Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
+In the research process: ARTICLES
1. Explore topic basics (casual web searching)
2. Background (library catalog: books)
3. Current research (library databases: journal articles)
4. Support your argument (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (research librarians & Writing Center)
Why use articles?
Why use articles for research?
- For very recent, current information
- Cover very specific subjects
- Popular topics
- Alternative viewpoints
- Reports on scholarly research
Now is the time to be more specific with your searching. Articles tend to cover very specific or niche topics, and are also published more quickly than books, meaning the information is typically more current than the general information you can gather from books.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books.
Communication & Mass Media
Communication & Mass Media Complete includes journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Humanities International Complete
Focused on providing worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Offers access to academic journals, books, and primary sources across many disciplines.
ScienceDirect features extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Includes full text, abstracts and indexing.
In addition, there are several newspaper databases that may be useful in your research.
Allows cross-search of all newspapers available from ProQuest, including: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Includes current articles.
Historical Baltimore Sun
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1985. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Historical Wall Street Journal
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Historical Washington Post
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Washington Post. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals