Library Guides: ENGL 308 Payne: Find articles

In the research process: ARTICLES

1. Explore (web)
2. Background (library catalog: books)
3. Scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
4. Support arguments (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & Writing Center)

Searching Research Databases

Public schools United States free lunch programs

1. Search: public schools United States = 40k+ results

2. Open Choose Databases, and Select All. = 200k results!

3. Add: lunch programs= 259 results

4. LIMIT results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

5. LIMIT results to the last ten years.

6. Use the Citation generator to create an MLA citation

7. Use the chain link tool to create a durable URL.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Databases A-Z List and by Subject

Which subject does your topic fall under?

While the general, also known as multi-subject databases are helpful starting out, be sure to search subject-specific databases to find additional sources.