Finding articles
Critical analyses of literature can appear in books and book chapters, and they are also often published in academic journals. Consider the steps in the box on the left side of this page to exhaust all of your options. Even if you find a reference to a book or article that SU Libraries does not have, you can still obtain it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Search the library's licensed databases first. These provide the most compreshensive collection of full text articles and indexed articles. Indexed means you can see an article's information and maybe an abstract, and then request it through Interlibrary Loan.
1. Explore SU Libraries' general/multidisciplinary databases.
2. Explore SU Libraries' subject-specific databases.
Finding Literary Criticism
Literary criticism
The most frequently used sources of literary criticism are articles published in scholarly journals. These are indexed in the library databases listed below, many with linked full-text. For articles that are not linked directly, use the 
button to see options for getting the full article.
If you aren't sure how to get an article that you need, be sure to ask!
Literary Criticism in Scholarly Journals and Other Sources
- Academic Search CompleteAn interdisciplinary index that covers many journals in literature with full text for most. Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed journals. Especially useful for recent authors.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for hundreds of journals as well as information about books and other pubications from around the world
- JSTORFull-text journal articles from a number of scholarly journals in literature, language and related fields.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe world’s most comprehensive guide to books, journal articles, dissertations and conference papers about language and literature.
- Readers Guide RetrospectiveStories and poems, book and drama reviews, author interviews, and other features from popular magazines from the period 1890 to 1982 may be found here.