Reference sources
Reference books are useful for finding basic information about authors and:
- for a quick overview of a topic
- to develop vocabulary or keywords
- for suggestions for further sources
Reference books can be found in two locations in the library:
- On the main floor of the library near the Library Services Desk.
- Some are shelved among the rest of our book collections in the Stacks location on the 3rd floor.
Other reference books useful in studying literature
-
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: D114 .O94 2010 v.1 -4ISBN: 9780198662624Publication Date: 2010-07-29 -
Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: Reference Collection DA28 .D422scholarly biographies of British people from ancient to modern times; encyclopedic set with volumes still being added -
American National Biography
by
Call Number: Reference Collection CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21includes excellent author biographies; multivolume set, still growing
Selected Reference Materials
-
-
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
by
Call Number: PN81 .J554 2005ISBN: 0801880106Publication Date: 2004-11-03 -
Literary Research Guide
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PR83 .H34 2008ISBN: 9780873528085Publication Date: 2008-01-01 -
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PN41 .E48 1998ISBN: 1576070034Publication Date: 1998-09-02 -
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
by
Call Number: PS21 .H3 1983ISBN: 9780195030747Publication Date: 1983-10-13 -
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature
by
Call Number: PS508.N3 N67 2004ISBN: 0393977781Publication Date: 2003-12-19 -
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PN1997.85 .T54 2005ISBN: 0816054495Publication Date: 2005-02-01 -
The Oxford Companion to English Literature
by
Call Number: PR19 .D73 1985ISBN: 0198661304Publication Date: 1985-05-16 -
The Anglo Saxon Literature Handbook
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781118286500Publication Date: 2013-04-03 -
A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature
by
Call Number: PR149.B5 D53 1992ISBN: 0802836348Publication Date: 1992-11-01 -
The Companion to Southern Literature
by
Call Number: PS261 .C55 2002ISBN: 0807126926Publication Date: 2001-11-01
