Why use reference sources?
Reference works provide background information, overviews, and lists of sources to consult. Using reference sources is a great way to find quick information and discover words or key terms that can be used to search in databases and catalogs.
Most of the reference books listed here are located on the first floor of the GAC near the Research Help Desk. Most art-focused books are under the call numbers REF N31-NX, but some (photography) start with the call number TR.
Be sure to ask the person at the desk if you have any difficulty finding these books or other materials.
Additionally, there are several great web-based resources made available through reputable institutions, see below!
Timelines, Dictionaries, Directories
- Heilbrunn Timeline of ArtCompiled by staff members at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History covers all of art history from prehistoric times to present day. Features interactive world maps, 300 timelines, 900+ essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a detailed index. Contents are arranged chronologically, geographically, and thematically. Updated regularly.
- Getty's Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)Records for each artist include biographical information, names (including given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, married names, etc.), related artists, notes, and citations. Covers antiquity to the present. International in scope.
- CLARA: Database of Women ArtistsMade available through the National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA). Contains information on 18,000+ women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities. Profiles of these artists are slowly being moved to the NMWA's main website.
- ART21Focuses on contemporary art and artists. Profiles on artists typically include biographical information, images of work, and video clips of the artists in their own words.
Reference Sources in the Library
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms by Call Number: N33 .C575 2010ISBN: 9780199569922Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists by Call Number: N33 .O93 2012ISBN: 9780199532940Publication Date: 2009
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Call Number: N8510 .G76 2008ISBN: 9780195313918Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by Call Number: NB198 .E53 2004 v.1-3ISBN: 9781579582487Publication Date: 2003
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Call Number: TR9 .O94 2005ISBN: 9780198662716Publication Date: 2005
