Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Image Collections
Open Access, by AJC ajcann.wordpress.com, CC BY-NC-SA
Many cultural institutions are now allowing the downloading of images of artworks from their respective collections which are in the public domain.
Recommended Art Image Databases
Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning. You can browse ARTstor collections while on SU's campus, but in order to download or save content, you will need to register for an ARTstor user account. Additionally, images in ARTstor with the "IAP" tag can be used for publishing and educational use, without the need to request additional permissions from contributing institution.
If you have any questions, please contact Caroline Eckardt, ARTstor administrator at SU.
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Other Image Resources
Images are all around us and are easily searchable thanks to sites like Google Images, Flickr, Tumblr, Instagram, and Pinterest, to mention a few. It depends upon your assignment whether these are acceptable ways of gathering and using images. Please consult with your professor if you have questions about whether or not these are suitable ways of searching for images for your given assignment.
Regardless of where you locate an image, please remember:
always give credit to the source from where you found an image as you would a text source.