Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
+In the research process: BOOKS
1. Explore topic basics (casual web searching)
2. Background (library catalog: books)
3. Current research (library databases: articles and reports)
4. Support your argument (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (research librarians & learning commons)
The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.
SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...
- 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
- Folio Books
- 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Juvenile Books
- 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
- 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
- In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
- Stacks Reference
- 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
- Ready Reference
- Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
- In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
- Course Reserves
- These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.
SU Curriculum Resource Center...
- Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.
SU Nabb Research Center...
- Main Collection
- Maryland Special Collections
- SU Faculty Authors Collection
- Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.
Borrow Books from Other Libraries
My Library Accounts
Once you click here, scroll down to find the ILL account login.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to patrons who are unable to find certain books or articles through the SU Academic Commons Library or other USMAI Libraries. Library staff may be able to request these items if they are owned by libraries across the United States.
If a book is not available in SU Libraries, we can check to see if it is available through other libraries in the University System of Maryland. If not we can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can access your account below. For information on how ILL works and how to set up your account, go here.
Select Titles from the Circulating Collection
How to Write a Business Plan by
Call Number: HD30.28 .M3839 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
"If a reader is thinking of starting a business or raising money to expand an existing one, they'll need a plan. This edition is completely updated, providing all-new online resources and updated examples of successful business plans."
Launching a Business by
Call Number: HD62.5 .B364 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
"This is a hands-on book that focuses on the tasks that a new business owner must complete in the first 100 days of launching a business. Think of it this way. Imagine you've conceived a business idea, written a business plan, raised seed capital, and are set to launch your business on October 1. Now, what would you actually do on October 1, October 2, October 3, and so forth? How would you set your priorities? How would you know which tasks are the most urgent?..."
Grow to Greatness: Smart Growth for Entrepreneurial Business by
Call Number: HD62.7 .H483 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
Part I. Whether to grow. The "truth" about growth
Part II. How to grow. The four Ps : planning, prioritization, processes, and pace
Part III. Growth requires the right leadership, culture, and people. Growth is much more than a strategy
Designing Brand Identity by
Call Number: HD69.B7 W44 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
"A revised new edition of the bestselling toolkit for creating, building, and maintaining a strong brand. From research and analysis through brand strategy, design development through application design, and identity standards through launch and governance, Designing Brand Identity, Fourth Edition offers brand managers, marketers, and designers a proven, universal five-phase process for creating and implementing..."
The Start-Up of You by
Call Number: HF5384 .H63 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
A blueprint for thriving in your job and building a career by applying the lessons of Silicon Valley's most innovative entrepreneurs. The career escalator is jammed. Unemployment is sky-high. Creative disruption is shaking every industry. Global competition for jobs is fierce. Traditional job security is a thing of the past. Here, LinkedIn cofounder and chairman Reid Hoffman and author Ben Casnocha show how to manage your career as if it were a start-up business: a living, breathing, growing start-up of you. Start-ups--and the entrepreneurs who run them--are nimble. They invest in themselves. They build their professional networks. They take intelligent risks. They make uncertainty and volatility work to their advantage. These are the very same skills professionals need to get ahead today. This book will teach you the best practices of Silicon Valley start-ups, and how to apply these entrepreneurial strategies to your career.
The New Rules of Marketing and PR by
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .S393 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
"David Meerman Scott's marketing bible has become a modern day business classic. This is the book every ambitious, forward-thinking, progressive marketer or publicist has at the front of their shelf. Business communication has changed over the recent years. Creative ad copy is no longer enough. The New Rules of Marketing and PR has brought thousands of marketers up to speed on the changing requirements of promoting products or services in the new digital age..."
The Market Research Toolbox by
Call Number: HF5415.2 .M383 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-12
"...This text explores market research techniques such as secondary research, customer visits, focus groups, surveys, choice modeling and experimentation. The author describes how each technique works along with its costs and uses, tips for success, when and how to use certain techniques and precautions to take while using them. The Third Edition of The Market Research Toolbox incorporates new material on Web surveys along with more information on data analysis and sampling theory for qualitative research. Additionally, a new closing chapter illuminates the limitations of market research to clarify when it should be employed..."
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Market Research by
Call Number: HF5415.2 .W454 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
"A guide to researching and documenting the market potential of any product or service, something that is an essential - and too often overlooked - part of constructing a workable business plan. It is suitable for those who want to start or expand a business."
Consumer Behavior Knowledge for Effective Sports and Event Marketing by
Call Number: HF5415.32 .C65866 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-06
"Helps readers learn about new opportunities in using consumer behavior knowledge effectively in the areas of: influencing behaviors in society and sports; building relationships with consumers through sports and events; and providing services to consumers through sport and event sponsorships. This book also includes comprehensive reviews."
Online Consumer Behavior by
Call Number: HF5415.32 .O547 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
"Social media (e.g., Facebook, LinkedIn, Groupon, Twitter) have changed the way consumers and advertisers behave. It is crucial to understand how consumers think, feel and act regarding social media, online advertising, and online shopping. Business practitioners, students and marketers are trying to understand online consumer experiences that help instill brand loyalty. This book is one of the first to present scholarly theory and research to help explain and predict online consumer behavior."
Marketing to Millennials by
Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 F76 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-02
"With more than 80 million in their ranks, the Millennials (aka Generation Y)--born between 1977 and 1995--are the largest generation in American history, outnumbering Generation X by far, and even the Baby Boomers by 1 million. Their direct buying power is estimated at $200 billion, and their indirect buying influence at least double that..."
Financial Intelligence for Entrepreneurs by
Call Number: HG4028.B2 B422 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-09
"In this essential guide, Karen Berman and Joe Knight customize the approaches and insights from their acclaimed book Financial Intelligence specifically for entrepreneurs. The authors not only demystify common financial terms and tools, they also show how you can use this knowledge to gauge your company's performance and make better decisions."
Opening a Restaurant or Other Food Business Starter Kit by
Call Number: TX911.3.M27 F835 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-12
A guide to opening a restaurant of other food business that focuses on writing a business plan, discussing statement of purpose, marketing, competition, financial data, licenses, and other related topics; and includes a CD-ROM with an editable sample plan.