Databases: A reminder
Find articles using keyworeds in a "broad-to-narrow" search strategy
Statement: Are efforts to raise student awareness of colleges and university sustainability programs successful?
Keywords: sustainability colleges program
Synonyms: recycling college campuses methods
reuse universities systems
1. Broad topic: sustainability = 2000+ articles
2. Sub-topic: "college campus OR University OR higher education" results are now specific to colleges and synonyms.
3. This list still contains newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles.
- LIMIT results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals = 1793 scholarly journal articles.
- Depending on your topic, you may want to limit the publication date as appropriate. Consider topics that change dynamically such as health/medicine, education, technology, etc.
- Limit publication date to last 10 years = 1336.
- Refrain from limiting to Full Text. This may hide useful articles that you can access using the Find It button.
- Browse results lists quickly/efficiently by reading article abstracts.
- Citation generator is handy. Still, double-check using APA 7 rules.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete, CMCC, incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
Keep in mind that research topics are often interdisciplinary. SU Libraries provides access to databases that cover all SU programs and subjects.