Content
Keywords and example search.
Try search results Limiters.
Review and article record.
Abstracts for efficient browsing.
If an article is not available in full text try:
- Find it button,
- Google Scholar,
- ILL.
In that order.
Keyword search to browse articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete database allows you to search through almost 1000 communication-specific news and research publications including 326 scholarly communication research journals.
Example research question: "Does the coverage of protests by journalism and news impact public perception of the movements?" (agenda setting theory)
Keywords and synonyms: protests, journalism, news, public perception
1. Search: protests = 3912 articles.
2. Use the suggested OR terms: protests OR demonstrations OR activism = 9750 articles.
3.Add journalism or reporting = 1595 articles.
4. Add public perceptions or attitudes or opinion = 178 articles.
5. Limit to: Peer Reviewed and Publication Date (use 2013-2023) = 86 articles.
Time for you to search!
- Each article result contains an Abstract. In just a few seconds, you can determine if the article is a good fit or not.
- Which of these are original research studies? Tip: find the METHOD section.
- If you find an article, use the citation generator to create your APA 7 citation.
- Keep your article by downloading it or by using the permalink.
Use this example citation:
Brown, D. K., & Mourão, R. R. (2022). No Reckoning for the Right: How Political Ideology, Protest Tolerance and News Consumption Affect Support Black Lives Matter Protests. Political Communication, 39(6), 737–754. https://doi.org/10.1080/10584609.2022.2121346
Scenario One: Search the title using the library catalog. Limit to Articles.
Scenario Two: You searched the title in Primo, but there were no results.
If Primo does not find your article, try pasting the title or DOI of the citation into Google Scholar (example).
You can also add SU Libraries databases for Google Scholar to check. If the article is in full text in any of our databses, it will indicate it.
Scenario Three: You tried Primo and Google Scholar, but no full text of the article is available .
Request it from SU Libraries Interlibrary Loan. This is a free service for students. Article requests are usually fulfilled on the same day as requested!
It is nicely straightforward to use Google Scholar just by itself if you want to do a basic search across several search engine/databases that do not otherwise interact with each other. To make sure that you are accessing all of the resources that we pay for, however, you need to make sure that you have added Salisbury University as our library before you begin searching. Doing this is extremely easy - just follow the steps below!
1.). Navigate your way to Google Scholar and look for the three-bar "stack" in the upper left hand corner. This is where you will find the Settings option.
2. Under Settings, choose the Library links option. This will open up a new window with an empty box in it. In that box, type in Salisbury University, and then hit the 'search' button.
3. Once you have done that, two additional checkbox options will appear below the search box - both listing options for Salisbury University. Check them both off, then hit Save.
Now you are good to go! You can start searching for whatever it is that you are looking for, and your search results will be displayed in a "regular" Google-like way. But this time, you will see any full-text links that are available through SU Libraries linked to the right of the article title, and clicking on that right-hand link will take you to the SU login/SU-provided full text access!
