Resources for Learning & Writing in English
All of the below books are located in the English Language Institute Collection, in the Pit area on the first floor of the Academic Commons.
Academic Vocabulary Building in English, Intermediate by Call Number: PE1449 .A323 2015 v.2ISBN: 0472034227Publication Date: 2015
Academic Writing: a handbook for international students by Call Number: PE1413 .B28 2015ISBN: 9781138778498Publication Date: 2014
English Grammar and Usage by Call Number: PE1112 .L463 2005ISBN: 9780071441339Publication Date: 2004
The ESL Writer's Handbook by Call Number: PE1128 .E822 2010 (c.2)ISBN: 9780472034031Publication Date: 2010
Longman dictionary of American English by Call Number: PE2835 .L6 2014 (c.2, c.3)ISBN: 9781447948100Publication Date: 2014
Practical English grammar for Chinese speakers by Call Number: PE1130.C4 H82 2010ISBN: 9789570837018Publication Date: 2010
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): ESL Students"These OWL resources will help ESL students in second language writing. This section includes resources on writing across the curriculum, writing in the disciplines, and it contains links to OWL workshops and exercises useful for ESL students. This section also includes links to ESL resources on the Internet."
Be sure to follow the links on the left-side menu! - Exam EnglishThis site offers practice sessions and tests on the major language tests required by American colleges and universities for non-native English speakers.
- DuolingoA free online resource that helps users learn different languages with a ChatBot. Also available through iOS and Android apps.
- MemriseMemrise is a user-generated learning platform which uses flashcards as memory aids. There are currently over 150 language courses in 25 languages.
The International Student's Guide to Studying in the United States by Call Number: LB2376.4 .P37 2016ISBN: 9781938757228Publication Date: 2016
Succeeding As an International Student in the United States and Canada by Call Number: LB2376.4 .L57 2008ISBN: 9780226484785Publication Date: 2008
Recommended Titles
Library Terms Translated
- Translated Library TermsCommon words used in libraries translated into Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French, Spanish, and Arabic.
(Thanks to the University of Tennessee-Knoxville.)
International Student Guide: Glossary of Library Terms - from Wilmington University
Online Dictionaries
Chinese — English
- Cambridge Dictionary - English-Chinese (Traditional)
- Collins Mandarin Chinese Dictionary
- Character Dictionary -- also includes words, translations, practice section
Korean — English
- English-Korean - from Naver; includes audio, phrases, conversations
- Cambridge Dictionary - English - Korean
-
National Institute of Korean Language's Korean-English Learners' Dictionary
Spanish — English
- SpanishDict - includes different level, interactive and immersive lessons
- Lexico
- Collins Spanish English Dictionary
- SpanishPod101 - includes audio in different speeds
-
6 Hand-picked Spanish to English Tools That Offer More Than Just Translations