Why use a reference source?
Reference sources contain discipline-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that are perfect for finding quick authoritative overviews of your topic. Examples include industry surveys, consumer demographics, and business terminology.
Select E-Books
Research on Main Street by Call Number: HF54.56 .P47 2011ebISBN: 9780910965934Publication Date: 2011-04-01"In today's global economy, businesses need targeted, localized information about customers, companies, and industries, but adding the element of geography to any search topic--especially for counties, cities, census blocks, or any other substate areas--makes any project more challenging. Aimed at tackling these issues head-on, this guide offers free and low-cost options for using the web to find business and market information about various places..."
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand by Call Number: HC110.C6 B384 2014ebPublication Date: 2014"Find out how the American marketplace has been transformed by the Great Recession in the new 10th edition of Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand, with all-important 2012 spending data. Best Customers is a unique look at who the best and biggest customers are for hundreds of individual products and services. The new edition of Best Customers includes analyses of spending trends before (2000 to 2006) and after (2006 to 2012) the Great Recession, product by product."
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What by Call Number: HC110.C6 H385 2014ebPublication Date: 2014"Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2012 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services, all organized by demographics. It discusses who is buying what, and how much they spend. Also included in this edition is a comparison of spending trends before and after the Great Recession."
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns by Call Number: HF5415.3 .A44 2014ebPublication Date: 2014Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.
Select Handbooks & Guides
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012ISBN: 9781598848076Publication Date: 2012"This new edition of Strauss's classic handbook will retain its place as an essential text for library students; an indispensable guide for practitioners in public, academic, and special libraries who deal with business inquiries; and a resource for entrepreneurs and business professionals."
Accountants' Handbook 2012 by Call Number: HF5621 .A22 2012 v.1 -2ISBN: 1118171829Publication Date: 2012-06-05v.1 Financial accounting and general topics --
v.2 Special industries and special topics.
Qfinance the Ulitmate Resource by Call Number: HG173 .Q45 2013ISBN: 1849300623Publication Date: 2013-10-29Includes best practice and thought leadership articles, as well as practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges, up-to-date country and industry data, summaries of the most popular finance titles, and, biographies of important people in the world of finance.
