Business: Find Books

If a book is not available in SU Libraries, we can check to see if it is available through other libraries in the University System of Maryland. If not we can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can access your account below. For information on how ILL works and how to set up your account, go here.

BF - Psychology

G - Geography

• G154.9-155.8 Travel and state. Tourism

H - Social Sciences

• HA Statistics
• HB Economic Theory. Demography
  • HB615 Entrepreneurship
• HC Economic History and Conditions
• HD Industries. Land Use. Labor
  • HD28-70 Management
  • HD60-60.5 Social Responsibility of Business. Social Entrepreneurship.
  • HD1361-1395.5 Real Estate Business
• ​HE Transportation and Communications
• HF Commerce
  • HF5410-5417.5 Marketing
  • HF5549-5549.5 Personnel Management. Employee Management
  • HF5601-5689 Accounting. Bookkeeping
  • HF5801-6182 Advertising
• HG Finance
  • HG179 Personal Finance
• HJ Public Finance
• HM Sociology
• HN Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform

K - Law in General

• KF Law of the United States

T - Technology

Check out our newest acquisitions by subject area:

The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.

SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...

• Stacks 
  • 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
• Folio Books
  • 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
• Juvenile Books 
  • 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
• Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
  • 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
  • In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
• Stacks Reference
  • 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
• Ready Reference
  • Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
  • In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
• Course Reserves
  • These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.

SU Curriculum Resource Center...

• General
• Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.

SU Nabb Research Center...

• Main Collection
• Maryland Special Collections
• SU Faculty Authors Collection
• Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections. 

1. Research question or statement

What is it exactly that you are trying to find? Think of a way to state your topic in 1-2 sentences. 

2. Search terms

Pull words (and/or synonyms of those words) from your statement/question to use as KEYWORDS to craft your search...

• international management
• culture
• business strategy

...and use BOOLEAN OPERATORS to broaden or narrow your search, or create relationships between keywords...

• management AND culture
  • Searches for resources using BOTH of these keywords
• (business OR management) AND culture
  • Searches for resources that use EITHER business OR management, in addition to searching for mention of culture
• (business OR management) AND cultur*
  • Same search as above, but expands the meaning of cuture. Using an asterisk* to truncate a word tells the search engine to find all possible endings of that truncated word (cultur* = cultural, culture, cultures...)
• (business OR management) AND cultur* NOT "United States"
  • Use NOT to eliminate keywords or phrases from your search results. This is especially useful if, after trying a search phrase, you receive too many results that pertain to an area that is not relevant to you.

More Tips

• Use Search Options or Filters to further narrow your search to a specific type of resource, date range, etc.
• String together relevant synonyms or words with similar meanings to broaden your search results. ---> strategy OR plan OR method OR practice
• Avoid inputting your entire research statement into the catalog or a database's search engine. Break it up into keywords as shown above