Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Biology Subject Guide!
On this guide, you'll find helpful databases and other resources for your biology research projects. Databases are sites where you can search for journal articles on specific topics, search for particular authors, or browse entire issues of a journal. Many of our library database results provide full-text results, but if there is an article that SU Libraries doesn't have full-text access to, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan, usually for free!
Check out the Best Bets below to find information on most biology topics, or visit one of the other pages on this guide for more discipline-specific databases.
Contact me for more help or for questions related to the library or finding, using, evaluating, synthesizing, or creating information!
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of BioOne full-text journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Electronic journals in the biological and medical sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Librarian Contact Info
, Computer Science
, Earth Science
, GIS Management
, Integrated Science
, Urban & Regional Planning