Skip to Main Content

HONR 490 - Geography & Geosciences: Find Articles

This Guide Can Help You:

This guide can help you:

Form an approach to initiating the research you need to undertake.

Explore background information on your research topic. What do you need to know?

Identify differences between primary and secondary sources.

Explore SU Library's information resources.

Gather information for your thesis.
 
Organize and format your sources.

Finding Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
 
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
 
 
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
 
Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
 
 
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
 
This is a complete collection of BioOne_1 and BioOne_2 full-text journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
 
 
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
 
BuildingGreen brings together articles from environmental building news, products from GreenSpec Directory, and project case studies from High-Performance Buildings Database.
 
 
 
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
 
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: (1) Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, and competitors, (2) OxResearch, which covers significant economic and political developments from Oxford faculty; and (3) Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries.
 
 
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
 
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 4100 periodicals and offers full text for more than 3000 journals.
 
 
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
 
Mostly full-text database which publishes a wide range of scholarship including working papers from research institutes, occasional paper series from NGOS, policy briefs, case studies, conference proceedings and papers, course packs, book chapters and journal articles.
 
 
 
COS Conference Papers Index This link opens in a new window
 
Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.
 
 
 
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
 
Hoover's™ Company Records, a valuable resource for academic libraries, provides information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them. Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to thorough and up-to-date business information.
 
 
 
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
 
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
 
 
 
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
 
Worldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Includes: bibliography, monographs, computer files, conferences, dissertations, film, journals, law, maps, numerical data, patent, reports, reviews, training manuals.
 
 
 
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
 
Allows cross-search of all newspapers available from ProQuest, including: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
 
 
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
 
PsycARTICLES is a source of searchable full text articles in psychology. The database contains full text articles from 52 psychology journals, including 44 APA journals.
 
 
 
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
 
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than English. It includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities.
 
 
 
TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
 
Covers all areas of toxicology Including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmetal pollutants, mutagens & teratogens. Covers: bibliographic citations, journals, books, tech. Reports, theses, letters, meetings, proceedings. Produced by U.S. Nat'l Lib. of Medicine.
 
 
 
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
 
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.