Popular Sources - FYS INFO1: Design Thinking - Innovation - Entrepreneurship

Newspapers, Magazines, and Websites

In addition to scholarly sources, SU Libraries provides access to many popular business periodicals. The business world moves fast, sometimes the information you need won't be in a peer-reviewed scholarly source, you may need quarterly earnings reports, 10-k reports, stock information, etc. So, oftentimes news sources and online government filings will provide important information when researching for business.

While not a "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" source, it would be unwise to discount these sources of information because they do not fit the usual academic research mold. Just be sure to evaluate your sources critically.

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present
Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).

Business Week
Reports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.
The Economist
Founded in 1843, The Economist is and always has been, a publication of sometimes radical opinion with a reverence for facts. It is firmly established as one of the world's most authoritative and influential publications. Articles from The Economist are anonymous.
Financial Times
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
Forbes
Forbes is a business magazine featuring business leaders, entrepreneurs, executives and investors.
Fortune
A monthly magazine that business information on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.
Harvard Business Review
Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.

BRASS Best of the Best Business Web Resources

The Business Model Canvas
Used to create and document business models, the BMC is a strategic analysis tool that visually maps the relationships between customer segments, value propositions, channels, customer relationships, revenue streams, key resources, key activities, key partnerships, and cost structure.
Ethics Unwrapped
Designed to teach ethics in “every academic discipline where human beings think, interact, and work”, this educational program encompasses an introductory section and eight focused areas, including ‘Organizational Ethics’ and ‘Sustainability and CSR.’
Harvard's Atlas of Economic Complexity (version 3, 2021)
The Atlas is a globally recognized tool “intended to advance the understanding of inclusive economic growth.” Interactive data visualizations enable researchers to explore relevant international business information focusing on imports/exports, drivers of economic growth, and GDP growth prospects of certain countries.
Tax Notes' Tax History Project
This educational resource presents the history of taxation in the United States through three chronological collections. The ‘Tax History Museum’ is an encyclopedic overview from colonial America in 1660 to the present. The ‘1040 Archive’ provides copies of all IRS 1040 Forms beginning with tax year 1913.

Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
Data USA
This visualization engine draws from a variety of U.S. federal and state sources, allowing for easy discovery, comparison and customizations of data. It can be used by job seekers, policy makers, business people, students and other researchers. There are four starting silos: Cities & Places, Industries, Jobs, and Education, which offer information on trends in employment (industry growth, diversity, salaries, etc.), industries, education, public health and more. Recipient of the BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites Award 2022.
Investopedia Dictionary of Financial Terms
This free dictionary of 14,000+ financial and business terms is for beginner to experienced information-seekers. Its definitions range from short to article-length, each clearly indicating its author and date. Entries are well-known for being factual and accessible, and the site provides clear, contextual information, even for complex topics.
Our World in Data (OWD)
Our World in Data (OWD) covers global policy “problems of the day” by providing factual articles, historical data and data visualizations, which are available for open access use under the Creative Commons “BY” license. OWD encompasses research related to the environment, economics and social issues, and broadly tracks 100+ sub-topics, like demographic change, economic development, education, energy, food security, health, inequality, poverty, sustainable development and war.