Library Guides: ECON 430: Quantitative Research

In the research process: Quantitative Research

1. Explore topic basics and develop keywords (casual searching)

2. Quantitative Research (government documents or statistical websites)

3. Research (library databases)

4. Support your argument (cite reliable sources)

5. Drafts & revisions (research librarians & learning commons)

U.S. Census Bureau
The new census site includes access to the major census reports published by the US Government. Be sure you try:
County Business Patterns
United States Census

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.

UCI Machine Learning Repository
The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms. The archive was created as an ftp archive in 1987 by David Aha and fellow graduate students at UC Irvine.
United Nations Statistics Division - Demographics and Social Statistics
Demographic Yearbook and other publications; Demographic and social topics; Statistical Databases; and more!
Census Business Builder - Small Business Edition
Map companies in a particular region operating in a particular industry or sector. You can create map layers for additional variables (consumer spending, population, etc.) as well as generate a report on that industry.
American Time Use Survey (bls.gov)
Consumer Expenditure Survey (bls.gov)
This survey provides data about American consumer expenses. The most recent survey is for 2016. The survey can be viewed in a variety of formats, including tables, news releases, and reports. Select the type of resource you would prefer from the top paragraph.