Library Guides: CHEM 403: Open Access

Online Open Access Search Engines

Directory of Open Access Journals
Search by article title or journal. Massive Open Access aggregator for many fields, including chemistry and other sciences.
MDPI
Open Access publisher of several hundred journals, largely in the natural and biomedical sciences.
IEEE Xplore
After you search, look for the "Open Access Only" option on the left side of your screen. Open articles will have a green unlocked symbol. Covers technical standards, computer science, electrical engineering, electronics, and related science fields.
Wiley Online Library
Limit to Open Access Content. Wiley is a library database that we don't subscribe to here at Salisbury, but they have lots of open access content.

Partial Open Access via Library Databases

Many of our library databases include some open access content. After you search, see if there are any limiters for Open Access Content.

One of the benefits of Open Access is that you don't need to be affiliated with a particular organization, so you can access these journals after you graduate. The library database links below won't work after graduation because they redirect through our proxy (SU login), but you can Google the name of the database and access it via the open web. You'll only be able to view open access content if you access databases this way.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences. Select the "Open access & Open archive" option at the bottom of the left limiter list.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search current and retrospective information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Under the Open Access limiter drop down on the left side, select "All Open Access".

Quality Open Access vs. Predatory Publishing

Beall's List
The gold standard list of collected predatory journals to avoid. The list is now only preserved in an archived format.
Retraction Watch
Written by Adam Marcus and Ivan Oransky, Retraction Watch is a blog that focuses on the content and reasoning behind the removal of journal articles that have been retracted from peer-reviewed journal. These articles are typically retracted due to scientific misconduct, falsified data, purposely manipulated images, or other similar significant - often purposeful - errors.
Scimago Journal & Rank
Most quality journals will have some kind of metric score - either an Impact Factor, H index, SJR ranking, or alt metrics. Generally speaking, the higher these numbers, the better quality the journal. However, even lower scores are almost always real, reputable journals that use rigorous peer-review and scientific processes, and they're much better than predatory publications.

How can you tell the difference between quality open access journals and sketchy predatory journals?

Just like you evaluate an individual journal article, evaluate the journal as a whole.

Google the journal. You can also Google the title of the journal + peer-reviewed, quality, or impact factor.
Pay attention to the exact title of the journal. Some predatory journals try to mimic a well established journal by adding words like "international" or pluralizing a noun. If a journal has changed their name, it should be noted somewhere in the "about" or "history" section on their webpage. Predatory journals may also try to mimic the names of reputable conferences or professional organizations.
Be wary of any journals that promise automatic acceptance. Quality open access journals still provide a thorough and competitive review process.
Be wary of any unsolicited emails to publish in journals. "Call for submissions" is likely fine, "we're very impressed with your work and want to publish you" is probably not.
Be wary of any quick turnarounds or extreme timelines. They don't want you to take the time to fact-check this journal.

Activity:

Use your critical evaluation skills, Google, and the tools listed above to determine if these journals are quality titles or predatory publications.

Biological and Chemical Publishing
Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry
Open Access (OA) Publication
PLOS ONE
Cell Reports Medicine
Environmental Chemistry Letters