Background Information
As you start your research, ask yourself: What information do you already know about your topic? What information would be useful to know?
Reference books like encyclopedias and dictionaries are good sources to consult when you are at the beginning of your research and are starting to develop a search strategy because they contain facts and background information about a broader topic. These can be good tools to not only better inform you on important concepts for your general research but also to help clarify or expand on the keywords you already have!
Reference Sources
Look for eBook in the call number for those available online.
-
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought byCall Number: eBookISBN: 0631227814Publication Date: 2000
-
Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought
by
Call Number: JA61 .E48 2013ISBN: 9780872899100Publication Date: 2013 -
-
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United StatesCall Number: Ref HA202 .P7Statistical government periodical released annually.
-
The Statesman's Yearbook 2024Call Number: Ref HC59.3 .S738 2023Annual work presenting a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis.
Look for eBook in the call number for those available online.
-
-
Political Encyclopedia of U. S. States and Regions
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780872893771Publication Date: 2009 -
The Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780691152073Publication Date: 2011 -
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections
by
Call Number: Ref JK1965 .A57 2003ISBN: 0765680424Publication Date: 2003 -
Historical Encyclopedia of U. S. Presidential Use of Force, 1789-2000
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0313007195Publication Date: 2001 -
A Historical Guide to the U. S. Government
by
Call Number: Ref JK9 .H57 1998ISBN: 0195102304Publication Date: 1998
Look for eBook in the call number for those available online.
-
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415311601Publication Date: 2005 -
Encyclopedia of stateless nations : ethnic and national groups around the world
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9798216018605Publication Date: 2016 -
Globalization : encyclopedia of trade, labor, and politics
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9798400658037Publication Date: 2006 -
Patterns of democracy : government forms and performance in thirty-six countries
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9786613858368Publication Date: 2012
Look for eBook in the call number for those available online.
-
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowProvides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law, etc. Full text case law powered by Fastcase is included.
-
GovInfo This link opens in a new windowProvides free public access to the full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government (the Executive, the Legislative, and the Judiciary), both as a searchable database and browsable pages of information.
-
The Constitution of the United States of America byCall Number: eBook & Ref JK31 .C3Publication Date: 1953
-
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412990783Publication Date: 2012 -
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
by
Call Number: eBook & KZ1161 .P37 2009ISBN: 9780195389777Publication Date: 2009 -
