Library Guides: PHIL 310: Philosophy of Mental Illness: Doing Library Research

To Prepare for the Library Session

Step 1: Download the PDF of the article exercise, linked below.
Step 2: Open the database Philosopher's Index (click the link below to get to the database)
Step 3: Find a scholarly article about mental illness in the database. Search the phrase <mental illness> or <mental health>; or, use the name of a specific condition you would like to research. If you are unsure if your article is scholarly, use this chart.
Step 4: Obtain the full article, either as a a PDF, HTML text, which you can either print out or save to your computer.
Step 5: Post to the Discussion Board in My Classes (link is below).

Link to library assignment and discussion
Post the answers to the questions on the article exercise worksheet in this discussion board on My Classes.

article exercise
Worksheet for article searching, which is also linked in My Classes under the discussion board called "Finding articles in a database."

Philosopher's Index

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index, produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.

Where is the full article?

There are a few places to look for the full text of your article:
it may be available directly as HTML text
it may be available on the same page as a PDF (look over to the left of the screen for the PDF icon
it may be available, but you need to click the yellow find it button and place a loan.

If you want more information about how to obtain the full text of the article, visit this page of the library website.