Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are books good for?
Every book has its time and place; when it comes to non-fiction works, here a couple varieties you may encounter:
- Reference: Provide topic overviews, guidelines, summaries, or definitions. These could be formatted like a textbook, or they might be similar to a dictionary or encyclopedia.
- Research: May be written in normal chapters, or they may resemble a thematic collection of research published by different authors. The authors may be presenting empirical research they conducted themselves (hint: you'll see methods, results, conclusions...), or they may have gathered others' research to explain and analyze in bulk, similar to a literature review.
Reference texts are great choices for getting a better feel for a topic (similar to using Google or Wikipedia to get started), but they won't be as effective as research texts when it comes to writing a paper and supporting your claim, argument, statement, etc.
Note: Just because a text is not in the "Reference Collection" of the library does not mean it isn't a "reference text". Some are labeled as such (with a REF sticker), but something closer to a textbook will not likely carry this label.
Find Books and eBooks
Refer to the General Search Strategies page for brainstorming search terms. Keep your search broad to begin with (1-3 words that describe your topic). Use the SU Libraries Quick Search below (also located on the SU Libraries home page).
SU Libraries Search Box
Use the All Types or Books & eBooks tabs to search for books. You can also use the search box at the bottom of this page.
Refer to the Print Book Locations details further down this page to determine where certain collections (Reference, Ready Reference, Folio Books, etc.) are located in the library.
Call Number Locator Map
Use this map to locate a book based on its call number. Make sure you select the correct collection (ie General Stacks, Folio, etc.) first.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
If we don't have the book you need, request it through ILL. Books generally arrive in 5-7 business days. Follow the link above and scroll down to access/create your account.
Most eBooks are searchable through the SU Libraries All Types or Books & eBooks search boxes, just as with our print collection. Filter results to only eBooks (on results screen, look to the left side to find Format -> Book -> eBook) on the left side of the results page to only see eBooks.
Once you find a title, click on the View eBook link and follow the prompts to view or download the eBook.
If you need help accessing/downloading an eBook, refer to this page or contact your librarian.
To find even MORE eBooks, try searching within the following two databases:
Taylor and Francis E-Book Collection
Business subject areas: Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Marketing, Non-Profit Management
Interdisciplinary subject areas: China, Culture and Ethnicity, Ethics, Globalization, Human Rights, The Internet, Korea, Race and Ethnicity, Sexuality Studies, Social and Cultural Theory and Urban.
How to access: Find a title, and read online or download the PDF. No specific apps required!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database of eBooks. These titles should also be searchable through the SU Libraries Quick Search.
How to access: Read online or download the book. Adobe Digital Editions (free app) is required to view downloaded eBooks. For more instructions, follow the steps through "Download this eBook" on a book's record in EBSCOhost eBook Collection. Screenshots of process are available to the right (under Access an eBook)
If you would prefer to browse for books on a shelf, here are some recommended call number ranges for you.
HD28- HD70: Management
- HD57.7: Leadership
- HD62.4: International management
- HD66.5: Multinational, international teams in the workplace
HF5387: Business ethics
HF5389: Business, office etiquette
HF5549.A2- HF5549.5.T8: Personnel, employment management
- HF5549.5.C6: Communication
- HF5549.5.M5: Minorities; diversity of employees; multiculturalism
- HF5549.5.M63: Motivation
- HF5549.5.N64: Nonverbal communication in the workplace
- HF5549.5.R23: Racism
- HF5549.5.S47: Sexual orientation
HM Social psychology
- HM1261: Leadership
- HM1271: Multiculturalism; pluralism; toleration
Print Book Locations
The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.
SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...
- 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
- Folio Books
- 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Juvenile Books
- 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
- 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
- In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
- Stacks Reference
- 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
- Ready Reference
- Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
- In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
- Course Reserves
- These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.
SU Curriculum Resource Center...
- Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.
SU Nabb Research Center...
- Main Collection
- Maryland Special Collections
- SU Faculty Authors Collection
- Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.
Borrow Books from Other Libraries
My Library Accounts
Once you click here, scroll down to find the ILL account login.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to patrons who are unable to find certain books or articles through the SU Academic Commons Library or other USMAI Libraries. Library staff may be able to request these items if they are owned by libraries across the United States.
If a book is not available in SU Libraries, we can check to see if it is available through other libraries in the University System of Maryland. If not we can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can access your account below. For information on how ILL works and how to set up your account, go here.