When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! There are loads of ways to get a copy of an article you are interested in.
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Accessing Library Resources in Google Scholar
While many things on Google scholar are behind a paywall, you can link library account to ensure greater access.
Follow the steps below.
From the Google Scholar homepage, click the " ≡ " button and select go to 'Settings'. From 'Settings', select "Library links" and search "Salisbury University", check both boxes.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
It is best to start with one of the broad multi-subject databases. However, if you think a more narrow subject specific database may have what you are looking for, check one of the databases SU Libraries subscribes to below.
Looking for News or Magazines?
- Virtual NewsrackThis guide collects all of the news sources to which we have subscriptions. Some of them are in print, some are digital, some are daily, some are historical, etc. It also includes some magazines and other popular sources.