Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Information Sources
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Large range of consumer health information/topics. Full text of nearly 300 periodicals such as: Harvard Health Letter, Prevention, Tufts, Johns Hopkins, Vegetarian Times, Women's health Weekly. Also includes a wide range of full text health related pamphlets and reference books, patient education fact sheets from sources such as: People's Medical Society, A.D.A.M., A.A.R.P and Society Publications
- Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new windowNearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains articles on a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Most articles are available full text.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of nearly 550 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
- CDC Vital SignsVital Signs reports cover an important health threat and what can be done to drive down the disease.
- County Health Rankings and Road MapsFrom the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. Measures health factors of every county in the United States.
- Kaiser State Health FactsAllows users to do custom health reports for states and compare statistics.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)The nation's principal health statistics agency.
- NLM Products and ServicesFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes access to all resources and services provided by the NLM.
- Statistics Resources, HSHSL GuideBy the University of Maryland Sciences & Human Services Library
- Public Health InfoA collection of resources highlighting places to access high-quality information focused on public health at the local, state, and national levels.
- Maryland Department of Health (MDH)The homepage for the Maryland Department of Health.
- CDC: Centers for Disease Control & PreventionCDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
- Health Care Cost InstituteHCCI is a non-profit organization that aims to provide researchers "access to health care cost and utilization data that covers all ages and health issues, is national in nature, and includes previously inaccessible data on the private health insurance market."
- Health Insurance: US Census BureauThe Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
What is an "empirical article"?
An empirical article is an article that reports research based on actual observation or experiment; it may use either quantitative or qualitative research methods.
Need help determining if an article is empirical or not?
- In what kind of journal is this article published?
- Empirical articles are published in academic or professional journals, such as Journal of American College Health, American Journal of Health Education, or JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association.
- Does the article's abstract mention an observation, analysis or study?
- Empirical research measures something, meaning empirical articles will typically contain data collection, survey results, interviews, or an assessment of some sort.
- Does the article contain the following sections:
- Introduction
- Methodology
- Results
- Discussion
- Conclusion
- References
- How many pages is the article?
- Empirical articles are typically of substantial length- think at least 5+ pages.