Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good Places to Start...
The U.S. government's repository of open data.
U.S. Government's OfficIal Web Portal. The federal government's initiative to index all government web sites and provide comprehensive searches...
Check out the how to use link for search tips. (see more)
Useful Non-government Sites
Organization offering U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia (Recent news about the U.S. Supreme Court)
Commercial site offering free-access to legal information
C-Span is a respected non-partisan organization that covers Congressional issues, many of which are often recent hot-topics.
A useful tool to find legislative info relevant to your geographic area, GovTrack.us tracks the United States Congress and helps Americans participate in their national legislature.
U.S. Executive Branch & Presidential information including the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
U.S. President's Web Portal
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
An alphabet soup of hundreds of U.S. government departments and federal agencies.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR)
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. NOTE: Click on SIMPLE SEARCH to do a text search.
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
Essentially replaces Library of Congress's THOMAS website in a more user friendly and accessible format. Congress.gov is the website to use if you are looking for detailed LEGISLATIVE information, ie. transcripts of hearings, the status or history of a bill, a public law, etc. You can also find out how your congressman or senator voted on various legislative issues by accessing the role call link.
CRS Report for Congress (PDF)
Provides a membership profile of the 116th Congress including profile statistics and membership numbers for each Party in both the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate.
House.Gov provides committee membership listings, hearing schedules and links to committee websites of the U.S. House of Representatives.. Track and research bills, nominations, votes and lobbying disclosure information. Provides links to write your representative. Gives history of the House including historical statistics.
Senate.gov provides committee membership listings, hearing schedules and links to committee websites. Track and research bills, nominations, votes and lobbying disclosure information. Provides links to write your senator. Also Provides history of the Senate including historical statistics.
(NOTE: This is not a government website)
C-SPAN's Real-time audio of Senate hearings. You need to have Real Player to listen. You can download it from the bottom of Capitol Hearing.Org's home page.
Codified laws of the United States
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. This site contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Useful economic data CPI, PPI, unemployment rate, etc. see "Economy at a Glance" on this site
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
FCSM - Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data. You may want to search the Data.gov website https://www.data.gov/
U.S. Census Bureau
Population Statistics and demographic information, etc. from the U.S. Census Bureau (includes "American Factfinder")