What are scholarly journals?
Scholarly journals, sometimes called academic or professional journals, are specialized periodicals that publish articles for study and research in a particular subject area.
Many scholarly journals have a system of peer review: they must first be reviewed by a group of scholars who make sure that the article meets high standards for study and research in the subject area.
They will definitely take longer to publish than something like a newspaper, magazine, website, or video.
Databases
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus, you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals back to 1975, provides nearly 500 full text reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and a 592,000 photo Image Collection.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a good starting point for your research. It searches across many disciplines and sources. Link your Google Scholar to your library account to ensure access to articles that may otherwise be behind a paywall. Follow these instructions and the screenshot below:
- Click on the three bars in the top left corner to access your Google Scholar menu.
- Click on "Settings."
- Navigate to "Library links" in your list of settings.
- Type in Salisbury University and check the boxes that come up.
- Click save. Your Google Scholar is now linked to Salisbury University's library resources.