Engineering Databases
It was estimated back in 1992 that over $8.3 billion dollars was spent every year in support of engineers accessing information. You can only imagine how much that dollar amount must be now, given the explosion in information that has occurred since 1992!
The databases below are fantastic starting points when conducting a literature search. If you need help with anything more specific (patents, innovations, etc.) please don't hesitate to contact me directly for help!
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- IEEE Open Access This link opens in a new windowThis database serves as a portal to open access content within the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new windowSciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information, and was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies. OSTI is a program within DOE's Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. Our mission is to advance science and sustain technological creativity by making R&D findings available and useful to DOE researchers and the American people.
- Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWorldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorololgy and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Includes: bibliography, monographs, computer files, conferences, dissertations, film, journals, law, maps, numerical data, patent, reports, reviews, training manuals.
- C&EN Global Enterprise This link opens in a new windowC&EN Global Enterprise includes the full-text of Chemical & Engineering News, along with enhanced content covering science and technology, business and industry, and government and policy. Coverage starts from 1923 to present.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
