Library Guides: ELED 398 Diversity and the Family: Find Books

Recommended Book Databases

To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:

EBSCO eBook Collection

SU has a collection of over 2,700 ebooks on the subject of Education that you may view HERE.

Identify Diversity Children's Books

Diverse Book Finder Their MISSION: To diversify and balance bookshelves everywhere, that all our children can find themselves reflected and celebrated in libraries, schools and homes across the nation. To move the diverse books discussion beyond a focus simply on the lack of numbers to also consider content and impact by translating research findings so that they are accessible and useful.

Digitized Collections

Discovering Children's Book (DCB) - The British Library Discovering Children’s Books explores the history and rich variety of children’s literature, drawing on inspiring material from medieval fables to contemporary picture books. The site is aimed at primary school children, teachers and lifelong learners and features thoughtful drafts, scribbled notebooks, sketchbooks, story boards and dummy books, revealing the creative processes behind some of the best-loved children’s literature. Discovering Children’s Books also provides access to some of the earliest printed works created for a young readership and an array of movable, miniature, noisy and toy books, propaganda stories, comics, poems and fairy tales. The project unites children’s literature collections from four major cultural institutions: the British Library, Seven Stories The National Centre for Children's Books, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford and the V&A.
Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. Contains 6,000+ fully digitized books.
International Children's Digital Library The mission of the ICDL is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge. The Foundation pursues its vision by building a digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world and supporting communities of children and adults in exploring and using this literature through innovative technology designed in close partnership with children for children.

Recommended Guides

Library of Congress Call Numbers
An overview of the subject areas as they are assigned in LC.
Understanding LOC Call Numbers
Understand the call number you find on the spine of a book as a unique number given to each item in the library.

Google Books Search

Google Books searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital library database. Many items are completely full text, while some are partly full text to adhere to Copyright restrictions.
ABOUT GOOGLE BOOKS

Book Search

Book Awards Related to Diversity & Inclusion

Jane Addams Children's Book Award
The Jane Addams Children's Book Award annually recognizes children's books of literary and aesthetic excellence that effectively engage children in thinking about peace, social justice, global community, and equity for all people.
Anisfeld-Wolf Book Awards
Recognizes recent books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human culture.
Schneider Family Book Award
The Schneider Family Book Award is an award given by the American Library Association and meant to recognize authors and illustrators who have created stories or illustrations featuring characters with special needs.
Pura Belpré Award
The Pura Belpré Award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Stonewall Book Award
The Stonewall Book Awards are given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience.
Coretta Scott King Book Award
Named for Coretta Scott King, wife of Martin Luther King, Jr., this award recognizes outstanding African American authors and illustrators, and is awarded for books about the African-American experience that are written for a youth audience (high school or elementary).
South Asia Book Award
Highlighting Outstanding Literature for Children and Teens.
In recent years an increasing number of high-quality children's and young adult books are published that portray South Asia or South Asians living abroad. To encourage and commend authors and publishers who produce such books, and to provide librarians and teachers with recommendations for educational use, the South Asia National Outreach Consortium (SANOC) will offer a yearly book award to call attention to outstanding works on South Asia.

Call Number Locator

CALL NUMBER LOCATOR
The call number on any library item is like a home address. You may copy and paste it from the library catalog into the locator web page to see where it lives in the library.

Direct Borrowing

DIRECT BORROWING With your current Gull Card, you may freely borrow books directly, from any of the other 33 University System of Maryland & Affiliated Institutions (USMAI) library locations around the state, by placing an electronic request through the library catalog.

When your item arrives in 3 to 5 days, you will be notified by email that pick-up is available from the Academic Commons Circulation Desk.

USMAI Library Consortium Members:

- Bowie State University
- CES, Appalachian Lab
- CES, Chesapeake
- CES, Horn Point
- CES, Inst of Marine Env Tech
- CES, SESYNC Center
- Coppin State University
- Frostburg State University
- Health Sciences
- Loyola, Columbia
- Loyola, Timonium
- Loyola - Notre Dame Library
- Morgan State University
- Shady Grove Library
- St. Mary's College of Maryland
- Thurgood Marshall Law Library
- Towson University
- TU Northeastern
- University of Baltimore
- UB Law Library
- UMBC
- UMCP, Architecture Library
- UMCP, Art Library
- UMCP, EPSL
- UMCP, McKeldin Library
- UMCP, HBK Library Media Srvs
- UMCP, Performing Arts Library
- UMES
- UMUC
- USM Hagerstown
- UM Health Sciences Library
- UM Law Library
- UM University College