Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
How can I access databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus, you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Databases for Data Science
- IEEE Open Access This link opens in a new windowThis database serves as a portal to open access content within the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new windowSciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information, and was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies. OSTI is a program within DOE's Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. Our mission is to advance science and sustain technological creativity by making R&D findings available and useful to DOE researchers and the American people.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
- Educause This link opens in a new windowprovides research and publications that advance higher education through the use of information technology.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new windowOCLC index of articles from the contents pages of over 12,000 journals.
- EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new windowCollection of free electronic theses and dissertations from universities and colleges worldwide.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a good starting point for your research. It searches across many disciplines and sources. Link your Google Scholar to your library account to ensure access to articles that may otherwise be behind a paywall. Follow these instructions and the screenshot below:
- Click on the three bars in the top left corner to access your Google Scholar menu.
- Click on "Settings."
- Navigate to "Library links" in your list of settings.
- Type in Salisbury University and check the boxes that come up.
- Click save. Your Google Scholar is now linked to Salisbury University's library resources.