Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Chemistry Subject Guide!
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access provided to over 80 chemistry magazines and journals with an archive dating back to 1879.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Each user must register to set up an account at https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1C760952-86F3-5055-1D62-2ACEBD3FF208 and keep track of his/her username & password.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases (American Chemical Society) that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! Search by keyword or molecular structure.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
C&EN Global Enterprise This link opens in a new window
C&EN Global Enterprise includes the full-text of Chemical & Engineering News, along with enhanced content covering science and technology, business and industry, and government and policy. Coverage starts from 1923 to present.
Other Useful Databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 5,000 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Although it can be a challenge using Google Scholar to find full text articles, this freely available search engine is perfect for research projects where you need to see the articles that have already been published about a topic. Google Scholar is not a complete representative of all scholarly journals, so you'll want to check multiple library databases as well.
If we don't have an article or book here in the Salisbury Libraries, you can request it through a service called Interlibrary Loan. It's fast and almost always free to you!
Use Interlibrary Loan for titles you find in places like Google Scholar or citation-only databases to borrow the full text from another university.
, Computer Science
, Earth Science
, GIS Management
, Integrated Science
, Urban & Regional Planning