Research Tips
- Ask yourself as many questions as possible to ensure you are thinking critically about the subject.
- For target market research, consider not just the age, but the lifestyle, gender, household size, location, culture, and other factors that would influence that market's consumer tendencies.
- Alternate your focus between the industry, company, and the consumer (who would buy X product? would person Y buy it? what prevents them from doing so? what could the company/product do to change this?).
Where to start?
Research Need
- Segmentation strategy
- Target customer(s)
- Psychographics
- Demographics
- Socioeconomic characteristics
- Product end-use (b2b)
- Company size (b2b)
- Type of industry (b2b)
- Geographic location
- Marketing mix
- Product strategy
- Pricing strategy
- Communication strategy
- Distribution channels
Resources
- Marketing textbook
- Company profiles -- library databases
- Press releases
- Industry reports -- library databases
- Statistics -- library databases
- News stories -- library databases
- Annual reports -- library databases
Searching Journal Collection
Want News?
Try our Virtual Newsrack
Filter Journals by Subject
Just select options in the "Browse By Subject" box.
Business News Subscriptions
- Business Week (Digitized Print)This is the digitized copy of the weekly magazine which reports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.
- The EconomistFounded in 1843, The Economist is and always has been, a publication of sometimes radical opinion with a reverence for facts. It is firmly established as one of the world's most authoritative and influential publications. Articles from The Economist are anonymous.
- Financial TimesThe Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
- ForbesForbes is a business magazine featuring business leaders, entrepreneurs, executives and investors.
- FortuneA monthly magazine that business information on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.
- Harvard Business ReviewPresents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Select E-Books
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns by Call Number: HF5415.3 .A44 2014ebPublication Date: 2014Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.The baby boom : Americans born 1946 to 1964 by
Call Number: HC110.C6 .B339 2015ebISBN: 9781940308890Publication Date: 2015
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand by Call Number: HC110.C6 B384 2014ebPublication Date: 2014The generation X : Americans born 1965 to 1976 by
Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 .G464 2015ebISBN: 9781940308869Publication Date: 2015
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What by Call Number: HC110.C6 H385 2014ebPublication Date: 2014
Marketing to Gen Z by Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 F758 2018ISBN: 9780814439272Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Marketing to Millennials by Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 F76 2013ISBN: 9780814433225Publication Date: 2013-07-02
Marketing to the 90s Generation: Global data on society, consumption, and identity by Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 P37 2014ISBN: 9781137444295Publication Date: 2014-12-17The millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994 by
Call Number: HQ796 .M555 2015ebISBN: 9781940308838Publication Date: 2015
