Skip to main content

ENGL 300 Asian Am. Lit. Quintana Wulf

Approaches to finding articles

For news or research articles, start with multi-disciplinary databases and subject specific databases. 

Open Academic Search Ultimate. Select Choose Databases and select PsycArticles and PsychInfo.

1. Asian American = 35,000 results

2. Add acculturation = 2780

3. Add women = 470

4. Limit to Scholarly Journals = 378


For author biographical or literary criticism of works, try the Literature Databases. 

Article databases

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
JSTOR
This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. It's not as complete as MLA (see above). JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 

Library databases:
A-Z list and by subject

Your topic may concern subject areas such as education, health, history, etc. You may consider searching within databases that contain articles that were published in subject-specific journals.

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with in-depth coverage of 2,300 of the most studied authors.

 

MLA International Bibliography

This is mainly an index, so be prepared to use Interlibrary Loan! Provides indexing of over 4,000 journals and series. Also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.

 

Humanities International Complete

A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989), plus its 3-volume Additions Series (1993, 1997).

Journal Finder

You found an article referenced in a book or other article and need to find it: 

The Criticality of Latino/a Fiction in the Twenty-First Century
Theresa Delgadillo, American Literary History, Volume 23, Issue 3, 1 September 2011, Pages 600–624. 
 
1. Use the Journal Search tool below to search this journal by title.
2. Use the rest of the reference info to retrieve the article. 
3. If the article is not available in full text, order it through Interlibrary loan.