Children's Literature Bibliographies

Salisbury University Libraries have two Children's Literature Collections:

1. The largest collection is in the Dr. Ernie Bond Curriculum Resource Center (CRC), located in Conway Hall (TETC: Teacher Education and Technology Center) 226. This collection contains over 20,000 items, which are mostly print materials and include board, picture, early reader, and oversized books, transitional titles, young adult and graphic novels, historical fiction, classical and historical literacy works, ESOL materials, and some specialized text books. New and award winning books are added every year. Books are arranged by Dewey Classification.

2. The Juvenile Collection is located on the third floor of the Guerrieri Academic Commons (GAC), which houses the main campus library. This collection contains over 13,500 items, including all categories and genres of Children's Literature. Books are arranged by Library of Congress Classification. This collection began when Salisbury Normal School opened in 1925 with the first small library in Holloway Hall when it was the only building on campus. Consequently, it is an older collection containing historically significant children's literature from different eras. New and award winning books are added every year.

The primary audience for our collections are students and faculty who are studying Children's Literature through the courses and programs offered within the Seidel School of Education, but our collections are available to anyone, of any age, from the SU and surrounding Salisbury communities.

Children's Literature

“Children’s Literature is defined as material written and produced for the information or entertainment of children and young adults. This includes material in all non-fiction, literary and artistic genres in  physical and digital formats.” Children's Literature, Library of Congress

Children & Young Adult Literature

"A basic definition might state that it (children's literature) is books written for this particular audience; we might also add that it includes books that children and young adults enjoy and have made their own." Cullinan & Galda's Children's Literature and the Child

Some characteristics often associated with children’s literature:

• It is often less frank than adult literature, with a focus on action and fantasy
• It is often contemporary, which means that it reflects issues of the era in which it was written
• The content is usually simplistic and straightforward, with adult themes mostly excluded (except perhaps in young adult work)
• It often reflects the emotions and experiences of children today, from a child’s point of view
• It tends to be optimistic, in which hope is a vital element, and most often with a happy ending
• It includes illustrations (in younger-level picture books and graphic novels) that augment the text
• Certain elements, like repetition or rhyming can be included to aid retention 
• Is often intended to instruct, so can be educational in nature

There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Children's Literature. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!

• Association for Library Service to Children

• Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

• Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site

• Children's Booklists on the Web: A Guide to Theme-Related Bibliographies

• Children's Literature

• National Storytelling Network

• So, You Want to Be a Children's Librarian

• Young Adult Library Services Association