Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 101 Han: Find articles

Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals

Keyword search using broad-to-narrow strategy

Example keywords:  Interpersonal communication   â€‹social media         sharing     news 


Open Academic Search Ultimate. 

Click "Choose Databases." --> Select All.

Search Interpersonal communication = 128,545

Add Social media = 1997 results.

Add sharing = 100+ results.

  • Limit to scholarly journals. Checkmark the Peer Reviewed box on the left side of your screen.
  • No link to "Full Text?" The Find It button searches for the article in our other databases.
  • Which of these are original research studies? Tip: find the METHODS section.

General or "multi-disciplinary" Databases

Academic Search Ultimate  Academic Search Ultimate is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
MasterFILE Premier Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
JSTOR This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.

Library databases

Library databases:
A-Z list and by subject

Your topic may concern subject areas such as education, health, history, etc. You may consider searching within databases that contain articles that were published in subject-specific journals.

 

Identifying Primary Vs. Secondary Research Articles