Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals
Communication & Mass Media Database
1. nigeria = 700+ results.
2. add "media" - notice your results are fewer but much more specific.
3. change media to "press". Checkmark the Peer Reviewed box on the left side of your screen.
4. Find It helps to find full text articles in other databases.
4. Export tool --> Direct export to RefWorks.
*Don't forget: We just used ONE database. The library has over 100. Try to branch out and exhaust all of your resources.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.
- Com Abstracts - citations to articles in Communications Journals. From this page, choose Com Abstracts in the top right-hand corner to search the database.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete - Full-text and citations for many journals and magazine articles about communication and media topics.
- CQ Weekly - Congressional Quarterly Weekly - your opportunity to find out what's going on in Congress!
- Contemporary Women's Issues - would be good for topics relating to women.
- ERIC - "Education Resources Information Center," a database with full text education articles and ERIC documents as well as Find It links to non-full text resources.
- Humanities International Complete - database covering the Humanities with quite a few Communications journals included.
- PsycINFO - the gold standard database for psychology and related fields.
- Social Sciences Abstracts - articles and citations for interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology, and more.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List