When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Article Databases: an A-Z List
You can search for databases by name or by subject.
Psychology Specific Journals
In addition to searching in databases, you can also search pertinent journals directly.
A few journals to try include:
- Biological Psychology
- Psychological Review
- Psychological Bulletin
- American Psychologist
- Behavioral Neuroscience
- Advances in Cognitive Psychology
Databases
There is a direct link between the frequency of concussions in ice hockey and chronic traumatic encephalopathy resulting in mood swings, addiction, and suicide.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 5,000 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support, helping students connect theory to practice. Nursing & Allied Health Premium delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
SU Libraries Map
PsychInfo Tips
PsychINFO has some really great filters and unusual on the left side of the results page, things like methodology (qualitative study, field study, longitudinal study, etc), the gender or age group used in the study, and many more.
Cited Reference searching; if you have found an article that really works for you, check what it cited! Or maybe someone else cited this article! Once you click on a title, look at the left side of the screen (under where you would access the PDF or the Find It button) for something that says "Cited References" or "Times Cited in this Database".
Click on an author or source to look at what else is available for that author or journal.
Citation Linker
- Citation LinkerUse this to locate specific articles that you find via Cited Reference searching.