Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYC 301H: Find articles

When and Where Can I Access Databases?

Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).

Article Databases: an A-Z List

You can search for databases by name or by subject.

Databases A-Z List

High Impact Factor Biopsychology Journals

In addition to searching in databases, you can also search pertinent journals directly.

A few journals to try include:

  • Biological Psychology
  • Psychological Review
  • Psychological Bulletin
  • American Psychologist
  • Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Advances in Cognitive Psychology

           

Databases

There is a direct link between the frequency of concussions due to aggressive play in ice hockey and chronic traumatic encephalopathy resulting in mood swings, addiction, and suicide



 

SU Libraries Map

Map of the first floor of the library

PsychInfo Tips

PsychINFO has some really great filters and unusual on the left side of the results page, things like methodology (qualitative study, field study, longitudinal study, etc), the gender or age group used in the study, and many more. 

Cited Reference searching; if you have found an article that really works for you, check what it cited! Or maybe someone else cited this article! Once you click on a title, look at the left side of the screen (under where you would access the PDF or the Find It button) for something that says "Cited References" or "Times Cited in this Database".

Click on an author or source to look at what else is available for that author or journal.

Citation Linker