Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How can I access databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and you can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus, you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
In the research process: ARTICLES
- Form an approach to tackling your assignment.
- Use keywords related to your concept art's topic to search.
- Explore the library's information resources.
- Distinguish between popular and peer-reviewed articles.
- Evaluate the information you are finding on your topic.
- Organize and manage the information you are finding & plan on using.
- Create your 'proof of concept' based partially on the information you find.
Databases for Environmental Studies
These are a list of databases that may be useful to you and your research. You can find all of SU's databases on the By Subject and A-Z List.
Agricultural & Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this database includes AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and the Environmental Impact Statement databases. Sources include scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews indexes series of comprehensive critical reviews from leading scientists for focused disciplines within the Biomedical/Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences including Economics. Our holdings consist of archival content for 35 titles.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection, this resource provides access to scientific literature from over 6000 serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. The Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases are included.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Electronic journals in the biological and medical sciences.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a complete collection of BioOne_1 and BioOne_2 full-text journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
BuildingGreen brings together articles from environmental building news, products from GreenSpec Directory, and project case studies from High-Performance Buildings Database.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Natural Science Collection this resource includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts databases, with full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorololgy and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Includes: bibliography, monographs, computer files, conferences, dissertations, film, journals, law, maps, numerical data, patent, reports, reviews, training manuals.
Plant Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.
TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of toxicology Including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmetal pollutants, mutagens & teratogens. Covers: bibliographic citations, journals, books, tech. Reports, theses, letters, meetings, proceedings. Produced by U.S. Nat'l Lib. of Medicine.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government that include the Executive, the Legislative, and the Judiciary.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.
Newspapers are good sources for thing like public opinion and popular culture.
But remember - if you are tasked to find scholarly/peer-reviewed sources, this is not where you should look!
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
Google Scholar can be a good starting point for your research. It searches across many disciplines and sources. Link your Google Scholar to your library account to ensure access to articles that may otherwise be behind a paywall. Follow these instructions and the screenshot below:
- Click on the three bars in the top left corner to access your Google Scholar menu.
- Click on "Settings."
- Navigate to "Library links" in your list of settings.
- Type in Salisbury University and check the boxes that come up.
- Click save. Your Google Scholar is now linked to Salisbury University's library resources.
Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals
Can't get access to an article, journal, or book? Use the identifying information you do have to find the material with the Citation Linker.
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).