Keywords
KEYWORDS carry some of the most important meanings that will open doors to vast amounts of information. You can develop keywords by searching reference sources, books, websites, and thesauri, among other materials.
Creating keyword lists are important in that you will use these terms to search library tools such as the library catalog and article research databases.
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
HLTH Databases
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Health Source: Nursing Academic This link opens in a new windowNearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of nearly 550 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowThis database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.