Interlibrary Loan Tutorial
Learn how to request material through ILLiad.
Find an article using a citation using Citation Linker
As you discover sources that support your topic, review their sources in bibliographies, reference lists, works cited, etc. Search the journal title to see if any of our 141 databases index the journal. Then use the volume, issue, and page number to find the full text.
Your citation:
Cuordileone, K. (2000). 'Politics in an Age of Anxiety': Cold War Political Culture and the Crisis in American Masculinity, 1949-1960. Journal Of American History, 87(2), 515-545.
1. Search the jounal title. If it's not found, none of the library's databases have content from that journal.
2. In this case, JAH has content in several library databases. Use the article's citation info to know which database has the article.
3. Locate and export the article to your Easybib project. This is for practice only, so be sure to delete it when we're done.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Access articles on your topic by searching in general or subject-specific databases. You can access the databases from the A-Z Database List or from specific research guides created for your discipline or a particular course. Articles are often available online in full-text format. However, if you don't find the fulltext of the article that you are looking for or need an article that is from a print journal located in Library, you can always request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If we have the journal/magazine/book physically in the SU Libraries, we will scan the article or the chapter you need and send it to you. This is a service for our distance students only. So it is imperative that you identify yourself as a distance student on the form.
Here's more information about Interlibrary Loan:
Getting started with Interlibrary Loan http://www.salisbury.edu/library/ill/
Here are the basic differences between ILL and Direct Borrowing/Patron Placed Hold
| Interlibrary Loan | Direct Borrowing (aka Patron Placed Hold) |
|
1. You request the item via the ILL page http://www.salisbury.edu/library/login.html
|
1. You request the item directly from the USMAI catalog |
|
2. Materials can be requested from any library outside the USMAI consortium |
2. Books are requested from the USMAI libraries only |
|
3. Materials may take longer to get to Library. The average turnaround time: a. for articles ─ 2-7 days b. for books ─ 1-2 weeks Hard to locate materials may take longer |
3. Materials get to the Library within 3-5 days approximately |
|
4. A one-time online registration form via ILL must be submitted before requests can be made. Login with your SU username and password.
|
4. No registration required but you will login with SU username and password |
|
5. There may be occasional charges if the lending library charges us, however we notify you first to see if you are willing to pay for the materials
|
5. Free |
