Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Executive Branch & Presidential information including the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
U.S. President's Web Portal
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
An alphabet soup of hundreds of U.S. government departments and federal agencies.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR)
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. NOTE: Click on SIMPLE SEARCH to do a text search.
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
Federal Judiciary information - Supreme Court, etc.
U.S. Supreme Court
U.S. Supreme Court website
U.S. Courts portal. Includes Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts
(NOTE: Not a government website, but an organization offering U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia (Recent news about the U.S. Supreme Court)
(NOTE: Not a government website, but a commercial site offering free-access to legal information
Congressional information - Including House & Senate Bills, and the U.S. Code.
Essentially replaces Library of Congress's THOMAS website in a more user friendly and accessible format. Congress.gov is the website to use if you are looking for detailed LEGISLATIVE information, ie. transcripts of hearings, the status or history of a bill, a public law, etc. You can also find out how your congressman or senator voted on various legislative issues by accessing the role call link.
CRS Report for Congress (PDF)
Provides a membership profile of the 116th Congress including profile statistics and membership numbers for each Party in both the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate.
House.Gov provides committee membership listings, hearing schedules and links to committee websites of the U.S. House of Representatives.. Track and research bills, nominations, votes and lobbying disclosure information. Provides links to write your representative. Gives history of the House including historical statistics.
Senate.gov provides committee membership listings, hearing schedules and links to committee websites. Track and research bills, nominations, votes and lobbying disclosure information. Provides links to write your senator. Also Provides history of the Senate including historical statistics.
(NOTE: This is not a government website)
C-SPAN's Real-time audio of Senate hearings. You need to have Real Player to listen. You can download it from the bottom of Capitol Hearing.Org's home page.
Congressional Committees (from GovInfo)
House and Senate Committee links - includes Hearings
Codified laws of the United States
(NOTE: This is not a government website.) C-Span is a respected non-partisan organization that covers Congressional issues, many of which are often recent hot-topics.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. This site contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
(NOTE: This is not a government website) but it is a useful tool to find legislative info relevant to your geographic area. GovTrack.us tracks the United States Congress and helps Americans participate in their national legislature.
This library guide presents a number of different access points to Federal Information on the internet. It includes websites on the three branches of the U.S. Government, an A to Z list of government websites, an Agencies List, statistical information and more. And if you are not totally satisfied with the way your legislative representatives are representing you, there is a Get Active link area through which you can contact them.
Also, sometimes rather than pinpointing a specific agency that may help you with your research, you may just want to do full spectrum search on the internet. You can do this by accessing the links in the "Good Places to Start" section, or just start by searching USA.GOV.
A - Z List of Government Departments and Agencies
Click here for a list of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Good Places to Start...
U.S. Government's OfficIal Web Portal. The federal government's initiative to index all government web sites and provide comprehensive searches...
Check out the how to use link for search tips. (see more)
Govinfo - Replaced FedSys Dec '18
The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) launched www.govinfo.gov and ushered in a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. govinfo will replace GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) in Dec 2018. . See the "About" section on Govinfo for more information about the website. https://www.govinfo.gov/about
One of the best keyword search engines - can be used for searching government information on the internet, but there are no searchable subject categories such as in USA.GOV and GOVSPOT. Note: You may want to frame your search using quotes " " around your search terms to get more relevant articles)
(NOTE: Not a government website) But it is an easy to use menu-driven entry point for miscellaneous Federal, State, & Local government information (Good for browsing & does have keyword searching)
Federal Digital System (FDSys) - Replaced by govinfo in Dec 2018
(Being replaced by gov.info in Dec 2018) FDSys has been the principal entry point for U.S. Government core publications via the internet plus much more. The Government Printing Office's "GPO Access" provides access to such publications as the the Code of Federal Regulations, the U.S. Code, congressional bills, slip opinions of the Supreme Court, the Catalog of Government Publications,etc.
(Note: see their "A-Z Resource List" Link)
Science Information from the U.S. Government
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government
Put together mostly for kids and young adults, as students, this website also can be useful for those older adults wanting a simple refresher or for immigrants just starting to get an idea of the U.S. Government structure. It's a fun website! And I bet many U.S. citizens, if tested, would be hard pressed to pass a test on everything found in this website.
American Factfinder (Defunct - see Census.Data)
Quick statistical facts on the U.S. (AFF was replaced by Census.Data)
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Useful economic data CPI, PPI, unemployment rate, etc. see "Economy at a Glance" on this site
Data and Statistics about the U.S. (from USA.gov
Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census and learn how to respond.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
FEDSTATS (Defunct - Archived link)
A gateway to statistics from over 100 federal agencies including links to the primary U.S. Government statistical agencies. (Click the "Agencies" tab once you are in FEDSTATS).
FCSM - Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data. You may want to search the Data.gov website https://www.data.gov/
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary statistics on just about any topic (often for a range of years) - lacks detail to lower levels of geography (ie. counties, etc.) but Statistical Abstract is a good pointer to other sources. Online editions cover up to 2012. No longer published by the U.S. gpvernmemt,. the later editions are available in print in the stacks (3rd floor) HA202 .P7 with the latest edition located in our Reference Collection on the 1st floor.
(IN LIBRARY USE ONLY - PC's 32 & 33)
“USA Trade Online is an online resource providing current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level.” (NOTE: STAT-USA is no longer with us)
U.S. Census Bureau
Population Statistics and demographic information, etc. from the U.S. Census Bureau (includes "American Factfinder")