Accessing Counseling and Therapy video collection
Streaming Media & DVDs
Social Work uses a variety of movies and documentaries in different courses. The library has many DVDs and videos as part of our streaming media collection; some are in the general collection, others are put on reserve by course faculty.
Some of the movies/documentaries are often freely available on the Internet.
The library streaming video collection from Academic Video Online, Kanopy, Swank, and Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vol.1
Please review the Streaming Media Policy here.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Chrome and Firefox are recommended browsers for viewing films from the Kanopy database. Faculty only may request individual films for teaching purposes.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
provides access to licensed movies from major motion picture studios to non-theatrical markets such as schools, college and universities. Chrome and Firefox are recommended browsers for viewing films from the Swank database.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I is a classic collection of videos filmed between 1985 and 2010, providing faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.
