Background Information
As you start your research, ask yourself: What information do you already know about your topic? What information would be useful to know?
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are good sources to consult when you are at the beginning of your research and you are compiling the basics about your topic.
Also, search the catalog for books on your topic that can provide a detailed history of it. Books are extremely useful for getting started in your research & providing background knowledge to build on.
Reference eBooks
-
International Encyclopedia of Dance
by
ISBN: 9780195187632Publication Date: 2004-12-23The fully searchable electronic version provides access to nearly 2,000 articles on all aspects of dance, including theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. Entries are also A-Z browsable. -
Oxford Dictionary of DanceThe second edition of this dictionary is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
-
-
The Encyclopedia of World Ballet
by
ISBN: 9781442245259Publication Date: 2015-06-08This reference work of more than 160 entries focuses on the uniqueness of ballet in the arts and its contribution to the study and appreciation of rhythmic control and the body in motion.
Print Reference Books
-
International Encyclopedia of Dance
by
Call Number: Reference GV1585 .I586 2004ISBN: 0195173694Publication Date: 2004-12-23An online version of this title is also available. -
Dance a While: A Handbook for Folk, Square, Contra, and Social Dance
by
Call Number: GV1751 .P56 2009ISBN: 9780321537010Publication Date: 2008-03-18 -
Biographical Dictionary of Dance
by
Call Number: GV1785.A1 C58 1982ISBN: 0028702603Publication Date: 1982-09-01 -
