Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Resources: CRAAP Test
Go beyond evaluating the webiste URL ending by using this checklist of criteria.
American Ballet Theatre's Library
Created by the American Ballet Theatre, these resources include an online dictionary of ballet terminology and forms and a repertory archive.
Although the website is a bit hard on the eyes, it is categorized by country and has over 3000 ballet companies listed.
NYPL, 500 Years of Dance
Part of the New York Public Library's (NYPL) online exhibition archive. "500 Years of Italian Dance: Treasures from the Cia Fornaroli Collection pays tribute both to the rich history of Italian dance and to the remarkable Cia Fornaroli Collection, a jewel of the Library's Jerome Robbins Dance Division." Includes photos and much informational text.
NYPL's Jerome Robbins Dance Division Audio and Moving Image Archive
Part of New York Public Library's (NYPL) Digital Collections. Contains nearly 3,500 videos. Not all items are accessible from the web. You can also do a search in all of NYPL's digital collections and include photos as well.
Wellness and Injury Prevention for Dancers
Every year hundreds of dancers and other performing artists suffer debilitating injuries due to the physical or psychological demands of performance. Left untreated, these conditions can become more serious, even to the point of permanent damage.
Fortunately many dance injuries can be prevented and when problems do occur, many treatments are available. These web sites will help you understand more about the medical problems of dancers, their prevention and treatment.
International Association for Dance Medicine & Science
Provides information about health issues for dancers and directories of products and services; includes links to other dance sites. For the journals listed in the Publications section, check in our library databases. If we do not have access to some of them, we can probably get them through Interlibrary Loan!
National Easting Disorders Association
Easting Disorders are a big problem in the dance community. This is a national non-profit organization dedicated to help those suffering from eating disorders.