In the research process: BACKGROUND
1. Background Information Sources (investment guides, dictionaries, handbooks)
2. Current News, Data & Analysis (library databases and web)
3. Research & Writing Help (research librarians & learning commons)
Select Web Resources
- Investopedia"Investopedia offers an abundance of financial content, from articles, dictionary terms, tutorials and video, to frequently asked questions and exam prep quizzes. Notable is Investopedia's Stock Simulator and FXtrader, where users can register for free and practice their investing skills with $100,000 in virtual cash in either the stock market or fast paced foreign exchange market."
Reference Books
Why use a reference source?
The library's Reference Collection contains discipline-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that are perfect for finding quick authoritative overviews of your topic.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012ISBN: 9781598848076Chapters on Investments, Stocks, Bonds and Other Fixed-Income Securities, Mutual Funds and Investment Companies, and Futures and Options that lists basics and additional information sources.
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by Call Number: HG151 .D54 2008ISBN: 9780199229741Publication Date: 2008-08-11"This dictionary covers all aspects of finance and banking, from personal investments to international trading."
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance by Call Number: HG151 .N48 1992 v.1-3ISBN: 156159041XPublication Date: 1992-11-01"This dictionary gives over 1500 entries and has contributions from over 600 individuals who each give definitions on the subject of money and finance. Where relevant terms are cross-referenced with similar or related terminology."
Qfinance the Ulitmate Resource by Call Number: HG173 .Q45 2013ISBN: 1849300623Publication Date: 2013-10-29"...covers key aspects of finance including risk and cash-flow management, operations, macro issues, regulation, auditing, and raising capital."
Select Titles
The Irwin Guide to Stocks, Bonds, Futures, and Options by Call Number: HG4521 .L637 2001ebISBN: 007137910XPublication Date: 2001-01-01
A Random Walk Down Wall Street by Call Number: HG4521 .M284 2011ISBN: 9780393081435Publication Date: 2011-01-10
The Investment Answer by Call Number: HG4529.5 .G64 2011ISBN: 9781455503308Publication Date: 2011-01-25
The Little Book of Common Sense Investing by Call Number: HG4530 .B635 2007ISBN: 9780470102107Publication Date: 2007-03-05
eBooks
There are over 100,000 Ebooks in Library's collection. Ebooks can be used 24/7 from any computer with an internet connection.