Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases -What Are They?
Library databases are searchable collections of article records, full text articles, book chapters, etc. on a variety of topics.
The library pays money to subscribe to these databases and most of the articles found in them are not available for free on the internet.
An advantage of using library databases is that it is often easier to find scholarly articles in the library databases than searching for them on the web. There are some good articles in Google Scholar, but you will usually find more in appropriate databases.
The databases listed to the right are not necessarily foreign language databases, but they all do contain foreign language articles. Some of these databases do a better job than others, depending upon the language or topic, so it is useful to sample different databases.
Find It Button
WHAT DOES THAT CUTE LITTLE FIND IT BUTTON DO, ANYWAY?
It's a bit like magic, really. The Find It button does three things:
1) Checks our databases to see if the document you want is available full-text in another of our databases. If so, it links you to it!
2) Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want, be it a book or film on DVD.
3) Links you to ILL (interlibrary loan) so you can borrow the item from another library if we don't have access electronically or in print listed in our SU Catalog
The Find It button is YOUR FRIEND!!!
STEP BY STEP GUIDE FOR SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES
Click on the following link to access a Step by Step Guide on how to search for an article in one of our databases
DATABASES WITH SOME NON-ENGLISH LANGUAGE ARTICLES (Alphabetical List)
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Another multi-disciplinary database. The strength of this database is that it allows you to specify those "print" journals located in our library. You must use the advanced search option to do this. . (NOTE: This is not the first database I would go to, but there are some non-English article citations with some links to full text or Interlibrary Loan options.)
Business Source Complete
Business database - Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.) Includes some business related articles in foreign languages. (Updated from Business Source Premier - more content!)
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
Mostly full-text database which publishes a wide range of scholarship including working papers from research institutes, occasional paper series from NGOS, policy briefs, case studies, conference proceedings & papers, course packs, book chapters & journal articles.
CINAHL PLUS w/ Full Text
Nursing & allied health database - providing abstracts of articles or full text articlesfor more than 770 journals. To search first select the language and then type in. your topic in English and then search.
Clase and Periódica (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
A database that indexes Latin American journal articles in the sciences & humanities ... most articles need to be ordered through interlibrary loan (ILL).
Communications & Mass Media
Database that provides both full text and abstracts for numerous journal articles in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.)
(EBSCO): [ERIC - Educational Resource Information Center] Education database - includes articles on second language study. There is a web version at www.eric.ed.gov/
A trial legal database replacing Lexis-Nexis for legal research.
Historical Newspaper Database - provides access to online full text for four newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. Historical newspapers articles are in PDF, some going back to the 19th Century, NOTE: these are English only articles, but may contain relevant historical articles related to other countries..
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Humanities database including literature and foreign language articles. Many articles are full text.
Multidisciplinary database including the collections for Arts & Sciences I, II, III, mostly full text ... some articles are in foreign languages. All articles are considered to be scholarly.
Literature Resource Center
Literature database - Good for author biographies and criticism on written works ... some non U.S. authors covered such Gabriel Garcia Marquez
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A database of the Modern Language Association with criticism on written works...some links to articles on non U.S. authors.
Newspaper database - Indexes and provides access to online full text for four newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. Historical Newspapers - Full text articles ... historical articles are in PDF, some going back to the 19th Century.
PsycINFO is one of the most comprehensive databases in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. While there are links to some full text articles through the FIND IT function, many articles may need to be ordered from our interlibrary loan service (ILLIAD).
Physical and Social Sciences database - covers physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Indexes both books and articles - some articles are full text with some in foreign languages
Web of Science
Multidisiplinary database - Citations database on science, technology, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Indexes several thousand articles on Language and Linguistics w/some links to full text. What makes this database unique is that it often links to (or at least cites) articles that are in the original article bibliography. It also points to recent articles that cite the original article. This creates a WEB of articles relating to the same topic and provides a good way to find other experts is a particular field of study. To search for foreign language articles select a language and then type in your topic in English using TS= or title using TI=. Many articles will need to be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) through the FIND IT function.
DATABASES BEST FOR LITERATURE
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology. Many articles are full text articles. Includes many foreign language articles and articles on linguistics.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities database including literature and foreign language articles. Many articles are full text. (EBSCO database)
Multidisciplinary database including the collections for Arts & Sciences I, II, III, ... some articles are in foreign languages. Most articles are full text and considered to be scholarly. Definitely worth a look!
Literature Resource Center
Literature database - Good for author biographies and criticism on written works ... some non U.S. authors covered such Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Well structured database includes: Biographies, literary criticism, links to primary sources, when available, and more. (GALE database - this cannot be combined with EBSCO databases. it must be searched separately,)
MLA International Bibliography
A database of the Modern Language Association with criticism on written works...some links to articles on non U.S. authors.(EBSCO database)
Manage & Organize
ProQuest RefWorks - Source citation tool
Please sign into your RefWorks account.
Keep RefWorks open in a tab at the top of your web browser.
A-Z -- SU Databases by Title
This is a list of all our SU databases listed alphabetically by Title