When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Searching Library Databases
Remember that we cannot search a library database the same way we would search something like Google. We need to spend a little more effort up front, developing good keywords (like in the developing keywords worksheet on the Evaluating tab) in order to get better results from the search. Some general tips in searching:
- Don't use a full sentence, try just the most important words.
- When using AND, every time you add a keyword it will reduce the number of results because everything it brings back has to have ALL of those words instead of just some.
- Start broadly with one or two keywords before adding in others. That way if you don't have satisfactory results, you know which word threw things off.
- " " help with exact phrases not just the words in another order so you will get "The Taming of the Shrew" instead of taming and domesticating shrews, moles, and mustelids.
- Consider the filters in the database after you are satisfied with your keywords.
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! There are loads of ways to get a copy of an article you are interested in.
Suggested Websites
These websites might prove helpful in getting images or inspiration, particularly if you are working on the costume or set assignments for your final project. Just take note of the source requirements in your assignment from your professor.
- New York Public Library Digital Collections
"This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more." Great reference for costume and set design. - The Met's Costume Institute Online Collection
"This collection contains ephemeral and archival collections from the Institute and its Irene Lewisohn Costume Institute Library, with subsets highlighting fashion plates, sketches, and exhibition binders." - Thorne Miniatures Rooms from the Art Institute of Chicago
Images from the Art Institute's miniatures room. Great references for set design, although it can be challenging to search. - We Wear Culture
"With GA&C, the Google Cultural Institute, the technology giant’s not-for-profit foundation, has delivered the internet’s newest, most glamorous time suck. The project, titled *We Wear Culture*, is a massive, magnificent digital archive that traces the world’s sartorial history. Partnering with 184 institutions (from the V&A in London and MoMA in New York to Border & Fall in Mumbai and Balenciaga in Italy), it’s got 50,000 photos (700 of which are ‘gigapixel’) and over 400 exhibitions, digitised and filed away for posterity, available for your deep-diving pleasure."
Databases
A-Z Database List
A few databases have been pulled out below as promising places to start, but you can access any of our databases by checking out the A-Z Database list. You can search by subject or title of the database
Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowTEMPORARILY AVAILABLE (through May or June depending upon publisher) Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Only content marked "Free" or "OA" is available.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing of over 4,000 journals and series. Also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
Searching for Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowRepository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
Newspaper Articles
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.