Archaeological Artifacts
Arrowheads and Projectiles
Arrowheads and projectile points found between the 1930s and 1980s on the Aydelotte/Pettit farm, which borders Chincoteague Bay and is east of Snow Hill, Maryland, Nabb Research Center, 2017.036.005-.009.
Axe Head
Found south of sewage plant northern part of Harbor Point in 1962 just above Cottonpatch Island on the northern part of Harbor Point on the Wicomico River. May have belonged to the Wicomico Indians in Tondotank, Nabb Research Center, 2012.101.01.
Stone
Found south of sewage plant northern part of Harbor Point in 1962 just above Cottonpatch Island on the northern part of Harbor Point on the Wicomico River. May have belonged to the Wicomico Indians in Tondotank, Nabb Research Center, 2012.101.02.
Axe Head
Axe head found on the northern part of Harbor Point on the Wicomico River, Nabb Research Center, 2014.023.002.
Grinding Stone
Grinding stone found next to the St. Martin River in Ocean Pines, Maryland, would have been used as a tool to grind corn, Nabb Research Center, 2004.115.001 a-b.
Trade Beads
Trade beads from archaeological digs in Talbot County and Kent Island, Nabb Research Center, 2011.005.
Trade Beads
Trade beads from archaeological digs in Talbot County and Kent Island, Nabb Research Center, 2011.005.
2013.035 Catching Shadows Exhibition records
The records of the Catching Shadows Exhibition documents a series of oral histories and photographic prints recorded and produced by Marc Dykeman and Anne Neilson, 2007-2012, with a focus on Eastern Shore Native Americans from the Accohannock, Assateague, Nause-Waiwash Band of Indians, and the Pocomoke Indian Nation. The prints and oral histories were utilized to create an exhibition titled, “Catching Shadows: Tintype Portraits and Recorded Voices of 21st Century Native Americans Living on Maryland's Eastern Shore”. In addition to the aforementioned materials, there is a recording of the panel discussion held at and sponsored by the Queen Anne’s County Arts Council as well as a substantial volume of letters of support from Eastern Shore tribes requesting the use of the materials in an exhibit at the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian.
2012.120 Accohannock Tribe in Maryland Research
This collection consists of research, sources, and other papers related to the history of the Accohannock tribe of Native Americans between 1994 and 2013. Descendants of this tribe in Maryland contested for State of Maryland recognition, which is documented through correspondence. Other tribal activities, including those of the Pocomoke tribe, are documented through events calendars and articles.
2020.032 Special Collections Pamphlet Collection
The Special Collections Pamphlet Collection consists of over 800 published manuscripts discussing a wide variety of national and international topics. The materials date between 1762 and 1985. Specifically, the collection includes a publication detailing an exploration of an Indian Ossuary on the Choptank River, Dorchester County Md.; A Description of the Human Bones Discovered, An Examination of Traces of Disease in the Bones, 1897.
2016.999 Native American Folklife records
The Native American folklife records consist of materials related to the Accohannock tribe of Somerset County, Maryland. The collection document the tribe's history, and attempts to gain federal recognition. Within the collection, are history, folklore, and legends related to the tribe. In addition to guides on documenting local cultural tradition. Materials in this collection date from 1994-1999 with the bulk of the material dating to 1994.
See also: "Folklife - Native Americans" in Nabb Center Finding Aid Portal
SC2017.041 The Fair of the Iron Horse Program
This program was created for The Fair of the Iron Horse, which took place in Halethorpe, Maryland from September 24 to October 8, 1927. The event was held to commemorate the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad’s first one hundred years of service to the public. The massive undertaking was spread over 25 acres along the Old Main Line and was attended by more than 1.25 million people. In addition to stationary exhibitions, it featured a moving pageant each afternoon that dramatized the progress of inland transport during the previous 100 years. 30 members of the Blackfoot Indian tribe traveled to Baltimore from Glacier National Park to participate in the Fair of the Iron Horse.
Bunky Echo-Hawk
Survival Guide to Genocide, Bunky Echo-Hawk
Completed painting in the SU Art Galleries collection from the live paint event.
Bunky Echo-Hawk Live Paint Event
Native American Artist Bunky Echo-Hawk during a live paint event at SU in 2014.
Bunky Echo-Hawk Live Paint Event
Native American Artist Bunky Echo-Hawk during a live paint event at SU in 2014.
Bunky Echo-Hawk Live Paint Event
Native American Artist Bunky Echo-Hawk during a live paint event at SU in 2014.
Bunky Echo-Hawk
2010.101 Eastern Shore Brochure and Pamphlet Collection
This Collection consists of Brochures and Booklets primarily pertaining to the Eastern Shore. Overall its central focus is Maryland/Delmarva. The Date Range of the Collection is 1609-2010. Specifically pertaining to Native American History, box 3 contains two folders of booklets of topics on regional Native American history including archeology, ossuaries, reservations, cemeteries, civil rights, medicine, culture, history, and art.
