Leave no stone unturned
Search the library's licensed databases first. These provide the most compreshensive collection of full text articles and indexed articles. Indexed means you can see an article's information and maybe an abstract, and then request it through Interlibrary Loan.
1. Explore SU Libraries' general/multidisciplinary databases.
2. Explore SU Libraries' subject-specific databases.
Web tools to find scholarship: these tools only scrape together what is freely available on the web. If you only use what you find with these tools, you miss an entire world of sources available to you in the library's paid tools. Often points you to article "pay walls." If full text is not avaialble, use the article info to request through the library's ILL service.
3. Google Scholar as a supplement.
4. Semantic Scholar as a supplement.
InterLibrary Loan is a sure thing when all else fails.
Article databases for author biographical information and critical sources
Critical analyses of literature can appear in books and book chapters, and they are also often published in academic journals. Consider the steps in the box on the left side of this page to exhaust all of your options. Even if you find a reference to a book or article that SU Libraries does not have, you can still obtain it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
In the database Academic Search Ultimate, let's search the following
1. Virginia Woolf = 2000+ articles
2. Add Dalloway = 200+ articles
3. Checkmark the Peer Reviewed limiter = 136 articles
- No link to "Full Text?" The Find It button searches for the full text article in our other databases.
- Not available in our databases? Request through InterLibrary Loan.
4. Use the Cite generator, or Export to RefWorks.
You can replicate this approach in nearly every database.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
This database is handy because it contains all full text articles and ebooks though these sources are five years old and older.
Library databases:
A-Z list and by subject
Your topic may concern subject areas such as psychology, health, history, etc. You may consider searching within databases that contain articles that were published in subject-specific journals.
Working backward: finding a source using a reference info
1. Search Google Scholar using the keywords: "A pale view of hills"
2. Find this one: 
Check library tools to see if we have it. Search the SU Libraries catalog for the journal title: Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction. Be sure to LIMIT to Magazines/Journals.
4. Use the volume, issue, and year to find the article.
5. If we don't have this journal, use the reference info above to reqeust it through InterLibrary Loan.