Big 3 research approach
1. Use library tools first. If we don't have it, go to step 2.
2. Try Google Scholar as a fallback plan. If that doesn't work (like, you hit a paywall)...
3. Use SU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service when all else fails. If you have citation info for a source you can't get, request it through ILL.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanYou may find specific journal articles that the SU Libraries don't have access to, especially if they're very new or very old. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) allows you to borrow these articles from another university library for free. Give yourself 48 hours for the PDF to arrive, but it's usually much quicker - sometimes within an hour!
Keyword search to browse articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete and other Ebsco databases can be searched simulatneously.
Select choose databases and select all.
Keywords and synonyms: protests, journalism, news, public perception
1. Search: protests = over 500k articles.
2. Get even more by selecting the OR suggestions as you type = 1,436,277 articles.
3.Add journalism OR journalists OR reporting etc. = 124,001 articles
4. Add public perceptions or attitudes or opinion = 13,867 articles.
5. Limit to: Peer Reviewed and Publication Date (use 2013-2023) = 5,025 articles.
6. Add a row. Try climate change OR global warming = 143 articles.
7. The Find It button.
Time for you to search!
- Each article result contains an Abstract. In just a few seconds, you can determine if the article is a good fit or not.
- Which of these are original research studies? Tip: find the METHOD section.
- If you find an article, use the citation generator to create your APA 7 citation.
- Keep your article by downloading it or by using the permalink.
Find databases by Subject: Library databases: A-Z and by subject
Use this example citation:
Brown, D. K., & Mourão, R. R. (2022). No Reckoning for the Right: How Political Ideology, Protest Tolerance and News Consumption Affect Support Black Lives Matter Protests. Political Communication, 39(6), 737–754. https://doi.org/10.1080/10584609.2022.2121346
Scenario One: Search the title using the library catalog. Limit to Articles.
Scenario Two: You searched the title in Primo, but there were no results.
If Primo does not find your article, try pasting the title or DOI of the citation into Google Scholar (example).
You can also add SU Libraries databases for Google Scholar to check. If the article is in full text in any of our databses, it will indicate it.
Scenario Three: You tried Primo and Google Scholar, but no full text of the article is available .
Request it from SU Libraries Interlibrary Loan. This is a free service for students. Article requests are usually fulfilled on the same day as requested!
Google Scholar
A lot of articles are paywalled, but you can increase your chances to find full text articles by making Google Scholar display articles that are available in full text through SU Libraries! Here's how:
1.). Navigate your way to Google Scholar and look for the three-bar "stack" in the upper left hand corner. This is where you will find the Settings option.
2. Under Settings, choose the Library links option. This will open up a new window with an empty box in it. In that box, type in Salisbury University, and then hit the 'search' button.
3. Once you have done that, two additional checkbox options will appear below the search box - both listing options for Salisbury University. Check them both off, then hit Save.
Now you are good to go! You can start searching for whatever it is that you are looking for, and your search results will be displayed in a "regular" Google-like way. But this time, you will see any full-text links that are available through SU Libraries linked to the right of the article title, and clicking on that right-hand link will take you to the SU login/SU-provided full text access!
