Voices and Votes: Democracy on Delmarva: Temperance Movement

This collection contains materials from the Stevenson and Hearn families of Newtown, later Pocomoke City, Maryland from 1748 to 1989. The earliest documents consist of papers of John Stevenson, a doctor who attended the University of Pennsylvania for medicine in 1797 and 1798, studying under Benjamin Rush. Stevenson also settled estates, and the collection includes records detailing some of the accounts he worked. The collection also includes the scrapbooks assembled by Ebenezer Hearn, who was a teacher and involved in the Temperance Movement in the lower Eastern Shore. The scrapbooks contain news clippings related to the local and national Temperance and alcohol prohibition movement, with other clippings of national events, sermons, and education topics.

Finding Aid

Digitized Items from Collection:

• "America First" scrapbook
• Prohibition Camp program

2003.005

The Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Maryland formed in 1875 shortly after the National WCTU formed in 1974. The WCTU opposed alcohol and supported women's suffrage. As of 2018, the Maryland chapter continues to opperate and still opposes the sale of alcohol while also opposing gambling and same-sex marriage.

This booklet contains the minutes of the 39th Annual Convention of the Women's Christian Temperance Union of Maryland that took place at Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church in 1914. The booklet which the group's constitution and reports of work.

Finding Aid

2010.202

• 2009.129 Phillip Fitzhugh Temperance Speech

Philip Aylett Fitzhugh (1824-1908) was a Northampton County physician and temperance activist.

The Philip Fitzhugh Temperance Speech contains a speech given by Philip Fitzhugh discussing the need for temperance, and the issues alcohol brings to communities.

• 2009.023 Eastern Shore Commerce Ephemera

The Eastern Shore Commerce Ephemera collection is divided into five series and documents the correspondences and accounting records of the Howard, Goslee, and Morris families. In addition, there are other accounting records from the Eastern shore, including Salisbury and Delaware. This collection also contains court documents, a temperance speech from 1833, a diary documenting an unnamed persons daily activities, and a meeting book from the Betsy Ross Council of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

This collection contains ten documents from the Prohibition Era. The specific items are- one leaflet from the Lycoming County Local Option Committee, One leaflet for a “No repeal of the 18th Amendment” rally, one blank money order to the PA Anti-Saloon League, one campaign leaflet for Paul A. Rothfuss, one postcard listing the national platform of the Prohibition party, one advertisement for a speech by Dr. D. Leigh Colvin in Williamsport, PA, one leaflet for the requirements of liquor dealers during Prohibition, one judge’s card from a speech contest held by the WTCU and an application to the National Treasury for a liquor license (including a supplemental materials form). Locations of the documents are Lycoming County, PA, Williamsport, PA and Chicago.

Finding Aid

Digitized Items from Collection

• Diary of a New Jersey Woman (SC2013.098)

The four diaries of an unidentified New Jersey woman are dated 1874, 1876, 1877, and 1878. The author was very active in church activities, including the temperance movement. She wrote frequently about community affairs, her husband, and her personal feelings about life and religion. She also kept a detailed record of what she purchased and its cost. Based on locations often mentioned, she is likely from New Jersey and could be related to a family with the surname Moore.

• Diary of Edwin Myers (SC2014.023)

The Diary of Edwin Myers chronicles the ranching and family life in San Bernardino County, California between April 13, 1887 and December 31, 1891. Myers owned a ranch near Etiwanda, California and wrote daily about work on the ranch and vineyard, his personal life, and local and national events. Myers called his wife, Frances, "mama" and his son, Sherman, "Artie." His wife sold books and was elected as a school trustee. Myers was also appointed Secretary of the Board of Irrigation.

• Temperance Journal (SC2013.028)

This Temperance Journal was written in the 1890s by an unknown person in an unknown location. There are 53 pages with pasted newspaper clippings and 22 handwritten pages, all of which concern religion and the temperance movement.

• The Temperance Songster (SC2018.002)

This collection contains a book of temperance songs by Anna A. Gordon, published in 1904 by Fillmore Music House. The songs are suggested for WTCU Choirs, general temperance meetings, prohibition rallies, etc. and have a Christian influence. Some song titles include "The Christian Race," "Prohibition's Comin'," "The Mother's Prayer," and "When Prohibition Wins."

• Travel Diary of an Unknown Woman (SC2015.056)

On  January  18,  1844,  a  Massachusetts  woman  took  a  train  to  Boston  where  she  boarded  the  steamship  New  Haven  headed  for  New  York  City.  During  her  11-day  visit  with  her  sister,  Emme,  the  diarist  toured  numerous  churches,  took  the  ferry  to  Brooklyn,  and  attended  a  Jewish  service  conducted  in  Hebrew.  She  also  attended  a  Catholic  mass  that  drew  her  sharp  criticisms  and  several  religious  lectures,  including  one  by  the  reformer  George  B.  Cheever,  a  minister  who  supported  temperance,  abolition,  and  rights  for  African  Americans. Finding Aid includes transcribed document.