Recommended Book Databases
To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias and Handbooks are great sources for terminology in the field. Many of the listed titles are online ebooks.
Recommended Guides
- Library of Congress Call NumbersAn overview of the subject areas as they are assigned in LC.
- Understanding LOC Call NumbersUnderstand the call number you find on the spine of a book as a unique number given to each item in the library.
Print and eBooks
Find books (print and electronic) in SU Libraries using our online library catalog. Books in our library are arranged using Library of Congress Classification. The books you can check out are located on the second floor of the library. If you ever have trouble finding a book you want, PLEASE ask for help at the Research Help Desk!
Books from other USMAI Libraries
You can also borrow books from any of the USMAI affiliations by selecting the "choose campus" link at the top of the catalog page and then selecting "USMAI All Campuses." When you find a book you want that is not in Guerrieri Academic Commons (GAC) or in the Curriculum Resources Center (CRC in Conway Hall), click the "request" button and use your ID number to login. You can have the book delivered to GAC within 3 or 4 days.
We have electronic books (e-books) from different vendors. These full-text electronic books are available through the library catalog.
Sample books in the collection
The Literature Review by ISBN: 9781506336244Publication Date: 2016-06-09
Succeeding with Your Literature Review by ISBN: 9781280121043Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by ISBN: 1473902487Publication Date: 2015-12-25
Telling a Research Story by ISBN: 9780472033362Publication Date: 2009-03-26
Intercampus Borrowing
After checking the library catalog if you find out that we don't have the book that you are looking for, we can still get it from one of the other USMAI libraries.
Remember you need to choose your campus (for ex. USM Hagerstown, Shady Grove) as your pick-up location.
If it is a book that Library has in Salisbury, you'll need to request it through interlibrary loan form! We will send the book to the library on your campus and you go there to pick it up.
** If all this sounds confusing, please contact Natasha Finnegan (NEFINNEGAN@salisbury.edu) or Amy Jones (amjones@salisbury.edu), and they can help you.
Google Books Search
Google Books searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital library database. Many items are completely full text, while some are partly full text to adhere to Copyright restrictions.
ABOUT GOOGLE BOOKS